Congress top leadership attends prayer meet at Bapu Kuti

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 03 Oct 2018 10:11:42


Staff Reporter,


Bhuvanesh Komkali, grandson of Pt Kumar Gandharva, rendered immortal bhajans

Though the political overtones of entire event were unmistakable, the soothing voice of Bhuvnesh Komkali, a classical singer and a grandson of Pt Kumar Gandharva who rendered some of the immortal bhajans liked by Mahatma Gandhi on his 150th birth anniversary at Bapu Kuti on Tuesday, transformed the entire ambience. Entire top brass of Congress Party led by party President Rahul Gandhi, UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi and former Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh participated in a special prayer organised at Bapu Kuti, Sevagram, to repose their faith in Gandhian ideals and in an obvious effort to re-appropriate Gandhain legacy.

Congress President reached Sevagram on Tuesday morning to pay obeisance to Bapu along with other senior leaders of the party. They visited Bapu Kuti, Ba Kuti, Adi Niwas and attend special prayer.

Bhuvanesh Komkali, who was specially invited from Devas, was overjoyed to be part of this historic occasion and described it as a life time opportunity for him to present bhajan at Bapu Kuti. Shobha Kawatkar, a Sarvod-ayee worker of ashram, Siddheshwar and Prabha Shahane also presented Sarva Dharma prayer and famous song Vaishnav Jan Ko Tene Kahiye.

She also welcomed Sonia Gandhi by presenting a cotton garland. D N Prabhu; President of Ashram, welcomed Dr Singh and Ashok Sharan welcomed Rahul Gandhi. Sonia Gandhi watered a plant that was planted by former Prime Minister late Indira Gandhi while Dr Singh watered the plant that was planted by former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi. After Congress Working Committee meeting, they enjoyed a simple lunch at Nai Talim and washed their utensils.

Pudducheri Chief Minister V N Narayan Swami, Leader of the Opposition in Rajya Sabha Gulam Nabi Azad, Motilal Vora, Ahmed Patel, Harish Rawat, P L Puniya, Ambika Soni, Mukul Wasnik, Avinash Pande, Mohsina Kidwai, Jyotirditya Scindia, Shivraj Patil, Janardan Dwivedi, Ashok Chavan, Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil, Yashomati Thakur, Vilas Muttemwar, Dr Nitin Raut, Anees Ahmed, Naseem Khan, Satyajit Tambe; were present.