CM seeks action against Opposition for false complaints to Election Commission

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 04 Oct 2018 11:50:28


Staff Reporter,

Delegation led by CM Chouhan met CEC O P Rawat in New Delhi on Wednesday

A delegation led by Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan met the Chief Election Commissioner, O P Rawat in New Delhi on Wednesday and requested him that the Election Commission should take stern action against Opposition for making fake and misguiding complaints.

Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan told that Opposition is creating atmosphere of confusion in State through fake complaints regarding voters’ list and levelling baseless allegations. He said that sometime back, Opposition had made complaint that there are 60 lakh fake voters and this complaint was found to be untrue after investigation. “Through fake complaint, not only the image of State gets tarnished but it also dents the prestige of the Election Commission,” he told. CM requested that action should be taken against persons lodging fake complaints. He claimed that Opposition is creating negative atmosphere by levelling false allegations. Moreover, CM requested the CEC Rawat for clear definition of paid news so that correct probe could be done in such cases and its expenditure could be added into the account of candidate or party in proper manner. The delegation led by Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan also gave some suggestions to the Election Commission so that election process could be accomplished in smoother manner and without any impediment.

The main suggestion says that permission letter for star campaigners should be issued not only for district rather it should be for entire State also and should be of full time. Outside the polling station, one display board should be installed which should reflect vote percentage, number of male and female voters and voting related figures should be updated in every two hours. If any citizen puts party badge and carries party flag then its expenditure should not be included into the party and candidate’s account. The delegation members included Madhya Pradesh BJP incharge Vinay Saharabuddhe, Minister of State for Co-operative Vishwas Sarang, Babu Singh Raghuvansi and S S Uppal.