Flying Squad deployed to keep vigil on Cess defaulters

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 04 Oct 2018 10:57:26



Business Bureau,

THE traders of New Grain Market of Agricultural Produce Market Committee (APMC) Kalamna, had, on October 1, demonstrated against illegal trade by some traders in other parts of the city. The Administrator of APMC had called The Nagpur Grain and Seeds Merchants Association for a meeting on Wednesday.

Pratap Motwani, Secretary of the Association informed that since last October, Flying Squad had stopped inspection due to which illegal unloading and sale of grains without paying Mandi Cess, was flourishing. The business at New Grain Market, Kalamna had fallen completely.

Santosh Agrawal, President and Pratap Motwani met APM Nayak, Administrator on the issue on Wednesday. The delegation explained all the issues and handed over a memorandum to Nayak in the presence of Rajesh Bhusari, Secretary and other executives. The delegation informed the administration that wholesale grain market was shifted to Kalamna so that all grains would come to main market and will go to rest of the city after paying Mandi Cess. But since last one year, grains were unloaded in other parts of the city and were going to other places without paying Mandi Cess as a result of which customers stopped coming to Kalamna. The business at the New Grain Market in Kalamna had come on backfoot and is on the verge of closure.

Nayak, after hearing traders’ woes patiently, informed his executive to start the Flying Squad to keep vigil on traders who are not bringing grains at Kalamna and are escaping Mandi Cess. He assured traders that Flying Squad will be started immediately. Nayak also assured that business activities at the New Grain Market will increase for which every care will be taken. On his assurance, traders promised to take back their agitation. They also warned that if illegal trade flourished again, they would take the path of indefinite strike and would pull the shutters down.
The delegation also requested the administration to open the grain market gate, improve conditions of internal roads, sanitation and supply of drinking water.

Also included in the delegation were Deepak Lohati, Virbhan Tulsiyani, Pravin Shahu, Ritesh Gondhwani, Dilip Sachhani, Jayesh Shah, Dinesh Bhalotiya, Mahesh Jejani, Arun Agrawal, Ashish Agrawal, Rinku Agrawal, Rishab Jejani, Vijay Gandhi, Kanhaiyalal Bajaj, Bhogilal Shah, Ajay Sachdev, Prakash Sachhani, Manoj Dalmiya, Balu Jagwani, Gopalchand Lotiya and others.