Sports personalities feted at Khel Alankaran Samaroh

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 05 Oct 2018 11:05:06


Staff Reporter,

Minister Yashodhara Raje Scindia felicitated best players and trainers of the State’s highest sports awards

SPORTS and Youth Welfare Minister Yashodhara Raje Scindia felicitated best players and trainers of the State’s highest sports awards including Vikram, Eklavya, Vishwamitra and Lifetime Achievement awards. Arjuna awardee and Olympian Padma Shri Sushil Kumar, Madhya Pradesh Olympic Sangh President Ramesh Mendola, Rowing Federation of India President Rajalakshmi Singhdeo, Additional Chief Secretary, Sports and Youth Welfare M Mohanrao, Director, Sports and Youth Welfare D S L Thaosen were present.

Sports Minister Scindia said that DNA does not have any importance in sports. Hard work and firm determination are always helpful in achieving the goal. If we change our negativity into positivity, we will be successful. Scindia said that the State has created new history in sports in last four years. The State has gained recognition in international-level. Now, Olympics is the goal. Efforts are being made to provide state-of-the-art international level facilities for great performance and for training by international trainers to players.

Asian Games winners receive cash awards: Players including Muskan Kirar, Harshit Tomar and Vivek Sagar, who won medals for India in Asian Games in Jakarta, were specially felicitated during Shikhar Khel Alankaran Samaroh by the Madhya Pradesh Government. Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan had announced to honour the players who won medals at Asian Games with cash prizes. Muskan Kirar was presented Rs 75 lakh as incentive amount for winning silver medal in Archery Compound Team Event at Asian Games. Rs 10 lakh was presented to main coach Richpal Singh and Rs 5 lakh to assistant coach Ashok Yadav. Rs 50 lakh was given to Harshit Tomar of National Sailing School in 4.7 Open Class in sailing, Rs 10 lakh to main coach Arjun awardee J L Yadav and Rs 5 lakh each to his assistant coach P Madhu and Anil Sharma.

Rs 10 lakh was given to chief coach Ashok Kumar, Rs 10 lakh to Women Hockey Academy chief coach Paramjit Singh and Rs 5 lakh to Assistant Coach Vandana Uike. Eklavya awards were given to 215 junior players, while Vikram awards were given to 10 players at the Samaroh. Three trainers received Vishwamitra awards while Sudhir Verma of Dhar was felicitated with lifetime achievement award for his special contribution in Badminton sports.

Players should take full
advantage of facilities: Sushil Kumar: Padma Shree Sushil Kumar said that sports facilities being provided in Madhya Pradesh are not being provided anywhere else. Players should take full advantage of the facilities and make best of it. Also, focus on your game and give results. Players get a boost when they are given awards as an incentive. Now, it is the responsibility of the players to give good results.

Sports personalities awarded with Eklavya Award-2018: This year, 15 players were awarded with Ekalavya Award. These include 5 players from Indore, 3 from Bhopal, 3 from Jabalpur, 2 from Hoshangabad and one player each from Bhind and Gwalior. Players awarded with Eklavya Award include Advaita Paage (Swimming) Indore, Kumari Adhya Tiwari (Soft Tennis) Hoshangabad, Kumari Jhanvi vastava (Canoeing-Kayaking) Bhopal, Kumari Shreya Agrawal (Shooting) Jabalpur, Kumari Muskan Kirar (Archery) Jabalpur, Kumari Naoram Anita Devi (Cycling) Jabalpur, Raju Singh Bhadauria (Horse Riding) Bhind, Kumari Namrata Batra (Wushu) Indore, Kumari Uma Chauhan (Sailing) Bhopal, Kumari Nisha Tayede (Fencing) Bhopal, Kumari Durva Mudrees (Softball) Indore, Kumari Neeraj Rana (Hockey) Gwalior, Vivek Prasad Sagar (Hockey) Hoshangabad, Akash Nainiwal (Kabaddi) Indore and Paritesh Pal (Powerlifting) Indore.

Vikram Award-2018: The 10 players who have been awarded with Vikram Award this year include 5 from Bhopal, two from Indore, one player each from Hoshangabad, Rajgarh and Shahdol.
Under this category, Harshita Tomar (Sailing) Hoshangabad, Sri Virendra Batham (Canoeing-Kayaking) Bhopal, Pranay Khare (Horse riding) Bhopal, Kumari Anam Basit (Shooting) Bhopal, Kumari Kirti Chandani (Soft Tennis) Bhopal, Kumari Rukmani (Rowing) Rajgarh, Kumari Juhi Jha (Kho-Kho) Indore, Kumari Puja Vastrakar (Cricket) Shahdol, Bhim Sonkar (Power Lifting), Indore and in the disabled category Sonu Golkar (Cricket) Bhopal have been selected for the Vikram awards.

Vishwamitra Award-2018: This year, Vishwamitra Award was given to Vinod Mishra (Canoeing-Kayaking) Bhopal and Mutum Ibomacha Singh (Cycling) Jabalpur in individual sports and Ghanshyam Chaudhary (Kabaddi) Indore in the team game.

Lifetime Achievement Award-2018: This year, Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Sudhir Verma of Dhar for his outstanding contribution in badminton.