MP bags two gold in 39th Jr National Rowing C’ship

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 07 Oct 2018 10:40:20


Staff Reporter,

Madhya Pradesh’s player Mangal Singh has single-scull and Pradumman Mandloi and Nitesh Bharadwaj won gold medals in double scull under the Competition. Odisha stood first in medal list while Madhya Pradesh second and Kerala was at third position

The 39th Junior National Rowing Championship being held at Upper Lake was concluded on Saturday with the stupendous performances of the finalists in 1,000 meter race. Madhya Pradesh bagged two gold and two bronze medals with tremendous performances of the players. In the medal list, Madhya Pradesh has grabbed second position by winning four medals in the championship. With three medals including one gold, two silver medals and one bronze medal Odisha has stood at first in the list while Kerala is at third position.

Madhya Pradesh Academy players bagged gold medals in the junior boys category of the Single Scull and Double Scull Event while in the junior boys and girls category of Coxless Four Event, Academy players bagged two bronze medals. Rowing Federation of India President Rajlakshmi Singhdev, Director of Sports and Youth Welfare SL Thaosen awarded the trophies and medals to the winners of the championship. With this the Championship also came to end on the day.

Madhya Pradesh player Mangal Singh won the gold medal in the final rounds of the single scull boy’s category played under the championship. While West Bengal and Karnataka players remained second and third respectively. Similarly, the duo of Academy’s Nitesh Bharadwaj and Praduman Mandloi gave a gold medal in the double-scull competition to Madhya Pradesh. Madhya Pradesh players Vedanta Kulshreshtha, Ajay Singh, Vijay Pal Singh and Prince Nasir won the bronze medal in the junior boy’s category in Coxless Four event. Similarly, Pratyusha Jain, Anshika Bharti, Jyoti Kushwaha and Monika Bhadauriya bagged a bronze medal while performing well in the Coxless Four event of the girl’s category.

The concluding program was addressed by Rajlakshmi Singhdev, President of the Rowing Federation of India and Director Sports and Youth Welfare Dr SL Thaosen where they congratulated the medal winners and the participants too for marvellous performances.

On this occasion, Girish Fernandez, Secretary of the Rowing Federation of India, Life Time President of the Federation Colonel CP Singhdev, Madhya Pradesh Rowing Association President Rabin Dutta, Arjuna Awardee Padma Shri Bajrang Lal Thakkar, Madhya Pradesh Rowing Association Vice President Indrapal Singh, Devraj Singh and Co-Secretary Mahavir Bhatnagar, Karnataka Rowing Association’s Suma Shekharan, Sudhir Sharma of Uttar Pradesh, Sandeep Gupta of West Bengal, along with other officers, Joint Director Dr Vinod Pradhan, Chief Trainer of Madhya Pradesh Rowing Academy Dalbir Singh, Chief Trainer of Sailing Academy GL Yadav and other trainers and players were also present on the day.