Sagar constituency is BJP stronghold

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 07 Oct 2018 10:26:00


By Ashish Rajput,

Congress Party faced consecutive defeat in Sagar district’s Sagar Assembly Constituency No-41 in previous three elections. Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) candidate Shailendra Jain emerged as the strongest candidate in the constituency. Congress and BJP are the only dominating parties as there is no influence of any other political party or individual in the constituency. The number of Sagar constituency was changed from 39 to 41 and its number of voters reduced by 21,755 votes from 1,69,868 in year 2003 to 1,48,113 after delimitation in the year 2008.

In the Assembly Elections-2013, total 1,24,395 voting turnout was registered against total 1,94,008 voters. Total 15 nominations were filed, one was rejected, three were withdrawn and 11 candidates contested the elections. BJP’s Shailendra Jain (64,351 votes) registered victory over Congress candidate Sushil Tiwari (56,128 votes) by the lead of 8,223 votes. Communist Party of India’s Intkam Hussain Butt (1,046 votes), Bahujan Samaj Party’s Shakeel Makrani (836 votes), Lok Jan Shakti Party’s Ashwini Rai (477 votes), Samajwadi Party’s Dr Ashiq Ali (210 votes), Jan Nyaya Dal’s Nirpat Sen (201 votes), Minority Democratic Party’s Firoz Anwar (123 votes), Janata Dal (United)’s Yamshankar Yash Yadav (368 votes), Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist)’s Dr Ramavtar Sharma (416 votes) and independent candidate Ramu alias Ashish Jain (239 votes) were the others in the fray.

In the Assembly Elections-2008, total 86,239 out of 1,48,113 registered voters used their voting rights. Total 22 nominations were filed, three were rejected, four were withdrawn and 15 candidates contested the elections. BJP’s Shailendra Kumar (46,000 votes) defeated his closest opponent Congress candidate Prakash Jain (25,149 votes) by the lead of 20,851 votes. Samajwadi Party’s Dr Ashiq Ali (830 votes), Bahujan Samaj Party’s Ashish Jyotishi (4,670 votes), Republican Party of India (A)’s Uma Devi Rai (371 votes), Bharatiya Jan Shakti’s Mukesh Kumar (6,530 votes), Lok Jan Shakti Party’s Shambhu Sharan Tiwari (134 votes), Gondwana Gantantra Party’s Sudhir Kumar Choubey (72 votes), independent candidates Devendra Kumar Jain (131 votes),Prakash Chand Jain (221 votes), Mukesh (199 votes), Ramavtar (291 votes), Sujit Samia (447 votes), Sunil Jain (712 votes) and Gyanesh Mehta (482 votes) were the other contestants . In the Assembly Elections-2003, total 1,04,678 voters used their voting rights against total 1,69,868 voters. Total 16 nominations were filed, four were rejected, one was withdrawn and 11 candidates contested elections.

BJP’s Sudha Jain (50,356 votes) defeated Congress candidate Dr Sushil Tiwari (41,832 votes) by the difference of 8,524 votes. Bahujan Samaj Party’s Surendra Suhane (8,113 votes), Rashtravadi Janata Party’s Anil Raikwar (601 votes), Shiv Sena’s Govind Patel (557 votes), Samajwadi Party’s Dr Prakash Jain (576 votes), independent candidates, Isrile (202 votes), Devendra Kumar Jain (220 votes), Munna Thekedar (840 votes), Shahadat Shah (307 votes) and Sujit Samaiyya (1,074 votes) were the others in the seat.