Cong stays afloat amidst triangular contest in Amarpatan

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 01 Nov 2018 11:55:39


By Ashish Rajput,

CONGRESS party’s senior leader Rajendra Kumar Singh dominated Satna’s Amarpatan Assembly Constituency No-66 amidst triangular contest with Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). Ramkhelawan Patel once managed to defeat Rajendra Singh by marginal votes in 2008 election after joining BJP. Patel was earlier defeated against Rajendra Singh as BSP candidate in 2003 elections then he joined BJP and registered victory in the constituency in 2008. BSP introduced three new faces in previous three elections and emerged third leading party.

In 2013 Assembly elections, total 1,45,621 voters exercised their right to vote against total number of 2,05,907 voters. Total 14 nominations were filed, two were withdrawn and 12 candidates contested elections. Congress candidate Rajendra Kumar Singh (48,341 votes) defeated BJP’s sitting MLA Ramkhelawan Patel (36,602 votes) by a lead of 11,739 votes, while BSP’s Changelal Kol (35,020 votes) was third leading candidate.

Besides this, Nationalist Congress Party’s Mathura Singh (789 votes), Apna Dal’s Dadhibali Prasad Patel (1,325 votes), Gondwana Gantantra Party’s Dharmendra Singh Tiwari (18,113 votes), Samajwadi Party’s Balendu Vishwakarma (638 votes), Republican Party of India’s Ramavtar Loni (566 votes), Rashtriya Parivartan Dal’s Dr Shivlal Kushwaha (1,117 votes), Hindustan Janata Party’s Saukhilal Patel (1,076 votes), independent candidates, Jansevak Mohammed Khalik Khan (1,147 votes) and Dr Sampat Patel (887 votes). In 2008 Assembly election, a total number of 1,19,204 voters used their voting right against total 1,66,990 voters. Total 28 nominations were filed, six were rejected, one was withdrawn and 21 candidates contested election. BJP’s Ramkhelawan Patel (41,049 votes) registered victory against Congress candidate Dr Rajendra Singh (36,348 votes) by a difference of 4,701 votes. Samajwadi Party’s Prashant Kumar (986 votes), Republic Party of India’s Amit Kumar (1,222 votes), Gondwana Gantantra Party’s Gauvi Prasad Gotia (505 votes), Rashtriya Samanta Dal’s Ramsumiran Kushwaha (335 votes), Bharatiya Jan Shakti’s Vijay Kumar Gupta (713 votes), Gondwana Mukti Sena’s Shyam Lal (2,057 votes), Apna Dal’s Shiv Kumar (512 votes), Lok Jan Shakti Party’s Shobhnath Sen (654 votes), independent candidates, Kamlesh Prasad Pandey (486 votes), Krishna Pal Singh Lonia (1,347 votes), Keshav Prasad Kori (1,448 votes), Gayatri (635 votes), Badri Bhai Chikva (2,546 votes), Mansukh Lal Kol (1,289 votes), Ran Vijay (489 votes), Ramcharan Adivasi (993 votes), Ramdhani (871 votes) and Ramlal Saket (1,193 votes).

In 2003 Assembly election, total 1,08,679 votes were cast against total 1,56,082 voters. Total 11 nominations were filed, one was rejected, one was withdrawn and nine candidates contested election. Congress candidate Rajendra Kumar Singh (36,834 votes) routed BJP’s Kamlakar (32,891 votes) by a lead of 3,943 votes, while BSP’s Ramkhelawan Patel (25,345 votes) secured third position. Lok Jan Shakti Party’s Krishna Adivasi (1,265 votes), Rashtriya Samanta Dal’s Chhabilal Tiwari (6,049 votes), Samajwadi Party’s Balkrishna Yadav (1,908 votes), Apna Dal’s Ramsajivan (952 votes), independent candidates, Motilal Mishra (1,178 votes) and Ramlal (2,257 votes).