4 vehicle-lifters held, 10 bikes, Activa worth Rs 6L recovered

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 05 Nov 2018 10:53:07


Staff Reporter,

IN a major breakthrough, a combined team of Crime Branch and Gorakhpur police nabbed four vehicle-lifters and seized 10 motorcycles and 1 Activa scooter amounting to Rs 6 lakh. The accused have been identified as Saurabh Patel (18), son of Mukesh Patel, a resident of Pariyat in Panagar, Arvind Yadav (22), son of Lakhanlal Yadav of Panagar, Sonu Patel (18), son of Mukesh Patel of Panagar and Roshan Thakur, son of Kunji Singh Gond, resident of village Sonkad, Jabera in Damoh district.

Additional SP (South), Dr Sanjeev Uike disclosed this while addressing a press conference, on Sunday. It may be noted that, under the direction of Superintendent of Police, Amit Singh, police started a special campaign against increasing number of vehicle-lifting cases in the district. In compliance with the direction, police started a special campaign under the supervision of Additional SP (Crime), Shivesh Singh Baghel, Additional SP (South), Dr Sanjeev Uike and CSP, Gorakhpur, Arjun Uike.

During the campaign, police received information about four suspects who were sighted with two motorcycles and trying to sell their motorcycles near Chhoti Line Fatak. Taking a serious note of the information, a combined police team led by SHO of Gorakhpur police station, Umesh Tiwari started a search and trapped the four suspects with two motorcycles. The accused failed to present documents pertaining to their motorcycles and were taken into police custody.

In a rigorous questioning, the accused confessed to stealing of motorcycles. They disclosed several vehicle lifting cases in Gorakhpur, Adhartal, Lordganj, Ranjhi and Kundam. On their identification, police team retrieved ten stolen motorcycles and one Activa scooter amounting to Rs 6 lakh from them.

The accused were apprehended with active working of police team led by SHO, Umesh Tiwari, comprising Crime Branch’s Head Constable, Mradulesh Sharma, constables, Rajesh Pandey, Premlal Vishwakarma, Sunil Pardhi, Anoop Singh, Ravisagar Pandey, Sujesh Vijayan, Gorakhpur’s SI, Aditya Narayan Singh, SI, BC Kantode, PSI, Sanjay Pandey, Rohit Garima Mishra, Matadin Ahirwar, ASI, Vinod Sharma and Constable Preeti Badgaiya.