Avinash creates new national record in long jump

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 05 Nov 2018 11:00:33


Staff Reporter,

Madhya Pradesh State Athletics Academy players won 8 gold medals, including two gold, two silver and two bronze in 34th National Junior National Athletics Championship 2018

IN The 34th National Junior Athletics Championship held at Ranchi from November 2 to 5, Avinash Kumar, player of Madhya Pradesh State Athletics Academy created national record in the long jump in 6.84 meters and bagged a gold medal.

Athletics Academy players won eight medals including four gold, two silver and two bronze so far, in different competitions. Expressing happiness over the spectacular achievements of the State Athletics Academy established a year ago, Director Sports and Youth Welfare Dr S L Thaosen appreciated the performance of medal winners and congratulated them.

On the first day of the competition, Academy player, Arvind won silver medal in discus throw by throwing 50.82 meter disc in under-16 category. In the under-20 category of long jump, Academy's player Krishna Sharma bagged a bronze medal in a jump of 7.26 meters. Under the competition, Academy’s player Ekram Ali bagged a gold medal with his spectacular performance in under-18 discus throw event where he threw disc to 56.70 meter.

Similarly, the player of the tournament, Rohan Tiwari, won gold medal in the Under-16 category, completing the 100 meter hurdle race in 13.52 seconds. Academy’s player Sunil Dabur bagged a gold medal in the under-18 category with a time of 3.58: 28 seconds in the 1,500 meter race.
Academy’s player Shivam Singh Sikarwar won the silver medal in 100 meters race under the competition in 11.52 seconds. While, Rohan Babariya won the bronze medal with a time of 49.77 seconds in 400 meter race in the Under 16 category. In view of the players performances, the academy will be able to earn more medals players in the competition.

In the National Junior Athletics Championship, 25 boys and 10 girls from the Academy are participating. The said players are receiving training under the guidance of the Chief Instructor of the Academy S K Prasad, guiding trainers Amit Gautam, Shipra Masih, Virendra Kumar and Anupama Shrivastava.