Supremacy stamped: Vidarbha U-19 are champions

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 01 Feb 2018 10:16:53


Anupam Soni,

Emulating Vidarbha Ranji champs, colts clinch maiden Cooch Behar Trophy

JANUARY 2018 will be written in golden letters in the annals of Vidarbha cricket. On the first date of the New Year, Vidarbha won their first-ever Ranji Trophy. On the last day of the month the juniors did an encore by rising to the occasion in style grabbing their maiden Cooch Behar Trophy (Under-19) beating Madhya Pradesh on first innings lead at the VCA Civil Lines ground. This is the third BCCI Trophy in Vidarbha’s kitty. The Under-16 team last year was first to bring home the Vijay Merchant Trophy. The Ranji team and U-19 team have added icing on the cake.

With skipper Atharva Taide (320; 483b, 34x4, 1x6) scoring the only triple ton by any age group player for Vidarbha, the U-19 side outsmarted their neighbours for the title.
In response to MP’s 289, Vidarbha amassed 614 and then reduced the visitors to 176-7. The captains of both the sides decided to call the game off with no outright result in sight on the fourth and final evening of their summit clash on Wednesday.

The fate of the final was already decided a day before. The only academic interest left in the match was whether Taide, unbeaten on 313 on Tuesday evening, beats the record of Punjab’s Yuvraj Singh (358) made in a final or the all-time Cooch Behar top-score of 451* compiled by Maharashtra’s Vijay Zol.

The Vidarbha southpaw failed to outscore both the left-handers.
The hosts started the day at 579 for six. Darshan Nalkande (19; 20b, 2x4, 1x6) added one six to his overnight score before missing MP skipper Rishabh Chouhan’s ball to be stumped by Rahul Chandrol. Taide and Parth Rekhade (14; 37b, 1x4) took the side past 600-run mark. The former was then cleaned up by his opposite number at 604.

A further ten runs and the last two wickets also fell. Vidarbha first innings wound up at 614.
Chouhan (4-119) was the most successful MP bowler. Mohd Saad Baggad took three wickets.
In their second essay, the visitors lost both the openers at the score of 17. Yash Thakur clean bowled Suraj Vashisht (7) and soon Darshan Nalkande had Dev Barnale caught by Nayan Chavan for nine.

Vidarbha were sniffing an outright win. But the pair of Sanket Shrivastava (71*; 176b, 8x4) and Yash Dubey (67; 99b, 9x4, 2x6) stemmed the rot putting up 109 runs for the third wicket.

Then there was another collapse. This time four wickets fell with an addition of 20 runs. Left-arm spinner Rekhade (3-48) and leg-spinner Rohit Dattatraya (1-45) accounted for those and the team was reeling at 146-6. But Shrivastava and Baggad negotiated Vidarbha bowlers well and at the fall of latter, the captains called for a truce.