OFK celebrates glorious 75 yrs with pomp and show

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 11 Feb 2018 12:15:42

Staff Reporter,

ORDNANCE Factory Khamaria (OFK) celebrated its Platinum Jubilee Year with great enthusiasm along with officers and employees at OFK Estate on Saturday. The celebrations began with a grand ‘Prabhat Pheri’ taken out from Eastland Olympic Stadium amidst chanting of slogans by a large number of members of employees’ unions and associations and concluded at OFK main gate.

The procession was followed by hoisting of national flag at Estate Garden at the hands of Chairman of Ordnance Factory Board and Director General Ordnance Factories S K Chourasia in special presence of OFK Senior General Manager Arvind Kumar Agarwal and other senior officers. Thereafter, senior officers paid tributes to martyred employees who lost their lives while producing defence ammunition at OFK at Shaheed Smarak. Officers visited Khamaria Lake and Environment Park and planted saplings. OFB Chairman Chourasia inaugurated a newly constructed volleyball court at Westland. Sports ground was developed after filling garbage ground to maintain cleanliness and provide sports infrastructure to children. S K Chourasia performed bhoomipujan for construction of Platinum Jubilee Gate at OFK to mark historic celebrations.

In second phase of the programme, guests honoured family members of martyr employees who laid down their lives for security of the nation. Besides this, senior officers were honoured for their valuable contribution in development of the factory. Addressing the programme, OFB Chairman S K Chourasia applauded contribution of OFK in feeding defence ammunition to Indian Army, Navy and Air Force during wars in 1962, 1965, 1971 and Kargil War in 1997. He said that OFK is as bigger as three Ordnance Factories with additional establishments of Accounts Officer, Internal Audit Cell, Controllerate Quality Assurance, Naval Ammunition, Senior Quality Assurance, LPR Offices and extension branch of Bank of India and TIWS Section at factory premises.

Eminent among those who were honoured at the hands of guests were former OFB members S S Natrajan, Bagati, H R Nahar, M C Bansal and A K Nayak. The programme was graced with auspicious presence of OFB members including P K Shrivastava, Saurabh Kumar, OFK, Senior GM A K Agarwal, AIOF/WWA, Snehlata Chourasia, AIOF, Vice-President, Seema Shrivastava, Deepshikha OFK, President, Sangeeta Agarwal, GCF, GM, S K Singh, GIF, GM, D K Bangauta, OFIL, BPMS, National President, Narendra Tiwari, AIDEF, National President, S N Pathak, INDWF, National Vice-President, Arun Dubey, OFK, AGM, B P Mishra, AGM, Hemant Kumar Paikra, Rameshwar Rao, Saurabh Mishra and others were present.