Fixtures fixed for Ministers for tabling answers against Legislators’ questions

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 03 Feb 2018 10:21:09


Staff Reporter,


The Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly Secretariat has fixed the fixtures for the 13 Ministers including the Chief Minister for tabling their written answers against the questions registered by Legislators, for the forthcoming Budget Session. Accordingly, the Secretariat has constituted five groups, wherein, the Chief Minister along with two Ministers comprising of three groups will be answering questions on four days while the groups comprising of other Ministers will be answering questions on three days each.

The 15th Session (Budget Session) and the last session of Fourth Chhattisgarh Assembly will commence from February 5 and will continue till February 28. There will be total 17 sittings during the Budget Session. The Budget Session will commence on February 5 with Governor Balramji Dass Tandon’s address. Discussions on Thanks Giving Proposal on Governor’s address, is likely to take place on February 8 and 9.

The 18th General Budget of the state and the last budget for the Dr Raman Singh led Bharatiya Janata Party government as it will be completing its third tenure this year, is likely to be tabled in the House during the second week of February by Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh, who also holds the portfolio of Finance. The size of the General Budget this year is likely to cross Rs 95,000 crore, which is likely to be a people’s budget mostly focusing on generating employment opportunities, Digital India, social security, good governance, etc.

However, the finance department has not finally announced the dates for tabling demand proposals for Fourth Supplementary Budget for the financial year 2017-18 and the demand proposals for General Budget 2018-19, but if the sources are to be believed, the General Budget proposals are likely to be tabled on February 10 while the 4th Supplementary Budget proposals either on February 6 of February 7.

According to Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly Secretariat, during the Budget Session, the Chief Minister along with Women and Child Welfare Minister Ramsheela Sahu and Labour and Sports Minister Bhaiyyalal Rajwade will be facing the House on four days and answering the questions of Legislators. Accordingly, these Ministers including the Chief Minister will be answering the questions on their respective departments on February 6, 13, 21 and 28.

In the second group, comprising Panchayat and Rural Development Minister Ajay Chandrakar, Food and Civil Supplies Minister Punnulal Mohle and Cooperatives Minister Dayaldas Baghel will be answering the questions on their respective departments on February 7, 15, 22. Similarly, the third group comprising of Urban Administration and Development Minister Amar Agrawal, Home and PHE Minister Ramsewak Paikra and Forest Minister Mahesh Gagda will be facing the Legislators for answering the questions of their respective departments on February 8, 16 and 23.

The fourth group comprising of Agriculture and WRD Minister Brijmohan Agrawal and School Education and Tribal Development Minister Kedar Kashyap will be answering questions pertaining to their departments on February 9, 19 and 26. The fifth group comprising of Revenue and Higher Education Minister Prem Prakash Pandey, PWD and Transport Minister Rajesh Munat will be answering the questions pertaining to their respective departments on February 12, 20 and 27.

This is the last Budget Session for the Fourth Legislative Assembly, for which preparations are on final stages. The Congress and BJP Legislative Parties have called meetings on February 5 for finalization of strategies. While the meeting of Congress Legislative Party will be meeting at committee hall in Assembly annex, the BJP Legislative Party will be meeting in the evening at the official residence of Chief Minister.