Critical RTMNU Senate polls: Counting today

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 06 Feb 2018 09:26:21


Staff Reporter,

The counting of votes for RTM Nagpur University Senate elections in Graduates Constituency, will begin at the university’s Convocation Hall, at 10 am on Tuesday. The elections for the ten seats were held on Sunday.

The candidates in the fray and their supporters might be required to wait till late night, as counting in the preferential voting pattern takes time. By late evening results in the reserved categories may be announced. As the voting is less, candidates completing the quota of votes in the first round is remote.

The elections were held for five posts in the Open Category and one each reserved for SC, ST, VJNT, OBC and Woman.
Maximum 17 candidates were in the fray in the Open category. The candidates in other categories were 5 - SC, 4 - ST, 3 - VJNT, 5 - OBC and 3 - Woman.

The University has made adequate arrangements for counting of votes. Segregation of votes for each category itself takes considerable time, which is then followed by counting of first preference votes. If the quota is not completed, the second preference votes are counted and so on.
The final result is likely to be announced on Wednesday afternoon.