Senate polls: ABVP gets 4 of 5 reserved seats; Bajpai wins from Open category

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 07 Feb 2018 09:37:53


Staff Reporter,

Counting to conclude today

Five results in the reserved category were announced late in the evening by Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University (RTMNU). The counting for seats in the Open category was in progress, in the Senate elections, under Registered Graduates Constituency. Out of the five seats announced, ABVP has captured four.

Waman Deorao Turke was the first candidate to be declared elected in the RTM Nagpur University Senate elections under Graduates Constituency. Turke had contested for one seat reserved for VJNT category. Turke,a candidate fielded by Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad, defeated his nearest rival Dilip Meshram of Parivartan Panel. The third candidate in the contest was Dinesh Khadatkar.

Turke was leading from the first round itself by securing 2267 votes out of 6393 valid votes. the first result was announced officially around 9 pm on Tuesday.
With the counting beginning at 10 am almost the entire day was consumed in segregation and separation of invalid votes.

WOMAN: Sarita Nimbarte was declared elected after recounting by defeating close rival Rajeshree Bhope of ABVP. Announcement in one seat reserved for woman candidate was expected to be declared first. However, tough contest between Sarita Nimbarte and Rajeshree Bhope (ABVP).

After the first round the difference between the two was around 100 votes, with Nimbarte leading. There was some heated exchange, objections over some voted declared invalid ensued. the situation was handled immediately by the university authorities. Recounting was demanded by Bhope’s supporters, delaying the announcement of the results. the third candidate in the fray was Shaila Bhakte of Parivartan Panel, who was eliminated after the first round.

OBC: Vasantkumar Chute of ABVP was declared elected. He was leading from the beginning and after the first round only formality of announcement of his election was awaited. He surged ahead in the first round itself by securing 2710 votes of first preference out of 6456 valid votes. the quota was of 3229.

At the second and third position Maheshkumar Lade and Amit Kakde had secured 1522 and 1503 votes. Kishor Warbhe (451) and Manisha Lohe (270) were other candidates in the fray.

ST: Dinesh Sheram of ABVP was declared elected. He was sure to win the one seat reserved for ST candidate. He was way ahead of other candidates by securing 2295 first preference votes out of total valid 6390 votes. Next to him was Jitendra Kirsan of Parivartan Panel with 1679 votes. Sheram will be nominated to the Management Council, as the seat from Graduates Constituency is reserved for ST category.

SC: Sunil Khandare of ABVP, who was leading in the seat reserved for SC candidate was declared elected late in the evening. Khandare had secured 2630 first preference votes, with a lead of more than 900 votes over his nearest rival Sumit Meshram of Parivartan Panel with 1724 votes.

OPEN: In the Open category only Manmohan Bajpai had completed the required quota of votes late in the evening. The final results in the Open category are likely to be announced on Wednesday. From among the 17 candidates Manmohan Bajpai and Pravin Udapure were leading with 990 and 888 first preference votes, out of 6184 valid votes. The other candidates were way behind the two. Veteran in the University politics and NUTA leader Dr Anil Dhage had secured only 317 first preference votes.
ABVP candidates Vishnu Changde (481), Sanjay Yellure (483) and Sameer Parate (484) were marching together after Bajpai and Udapure.