Bhaiyyaji Joshi gets fourth term as RSS Sarkaryavah

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 11 Mar 2018 08:21:56


Staff Reporter,


SURESH alias Bhaiyyaji Joshi has been re-elected as Sarkaryavah of Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) on the second day of Akhil Bharatiya Pratinidhi Sabha (ABPS) at Dr Hedgewar Smruti Mandir, Reshimbagh. Joshi has been elected for another term of three years by its office-bearers from across the country.

Joshi, who has been holding the post since 2009, will now continue on the position till 2021. He will be the second Sarkaryavah of the RSS to serve such a long stint after H V Seshadri who had held the post from 1987 to 2000.

According to a source, the election process was completed in the evening. Earlier, as per the process, Sarkaryavah Bhaiyyaji Joshi declared the completion of his official term. Kshetra Sanghachalak Bajranglal Gupta initiated the election procedure. Bajranglal Gupta appointed Madhya Kshetra Sanghachalak Ashok Sohoni as election officer who had invited the proposal for the post of Sarkaryavah from the representatives attending ABPS.

Paschim Kshetra Sanghachalak Jayant Bhadesia proposed the name of Bhaiyyaji Joshi while referring to the achievements of the RSS during Joshi’s tenure. The proposal was supported by Kshetra Sanghachalak of Purva Uttar Virendra Parakramaditya, Dakshin Kshetra Karyawah, Rajendran; Assam Kshetra Karyawah, Dr Umesh Chakravarti and Konkan Prant Sahakaryavah Vitthal Kanade. As no other name was proposed for the post of Sarkaryavah, election officer Ashok Sohoni declared Bhaiyyaji Joshi as Sarkaryavah for the period of three years (2018-2021).

According to sources, the Sangh preferred continuity rather than going for change at this crucial juncture, when it is expanding in all direction and spheres.Suresh alias Bhaiyyaji Joshi belongs to Indore in Madhya Pradesh. He was sangh pracharak during 1975 and fulfilled various responsibilities. He became Kshetra Pracharak of Nashik Vibhag and raised as Prant Sewa Pramukh. During his tenures as Kshetra Sewa Pramukh, Akhil Bharatiya Saha Sewa Pramukh and Akhil Bharatiya Sewa Pramukh, the work of RSS was spread across the country.

He became Saha Sarkaryavah and then in 2009, elected as Sarkaryavah. He was elected to the post in March 2009 when the then RSS Chief K C Sudarshan stepped down from his post citing health issues and appointed the then Sarkaryavaha Mohan Bhagwat as the RSS Chief. For the consecutive nine years he effectively performed duties and spread network of RSS across the country. He will continue till 2021 as executive head to look day to day affairs of RSS and his head quarters will be Nagpur.

Joshi’s re-election also puts an end to speculation that Joint General Secretary Dattatreya Hosabale could replace him as the Sangh’s new Sarkaryavah.