MHA orders amendment in seniority of 16 IPS officers of C’garh Cadre

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 19 Mar 2018 11:02:12



Staff Reporter

In all, 16 Indian Police Service (IPS) officers belonging to four different batches of Chhattisgarh cadre got a pleasant surprise from Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), Government of India. The MHA, in a fresh order, has directed for an amendment in their seniority/year of allotment of the IPS officers appointed during February 1, 2010 and March 18, 2012 from the Select Lists prepared as per ratio in the wake of an order issued by High Court of Punjab and Haryana in the case of Praveen Kumar, a State Civil Service officer of Punjab cadre Vs Union of India. Accordingly, seniority/year of allotment of the officers included in the said Select Lists were determined as per the amended seniority regulations.

“The biggest beneficiary of the fresh development is Chhattisgarh cadre IPS officer R S Nayak, who would now retire as Inspector General of Police. All these 16 State Police Service (SPS) cadre officers were conferred IPS award of Chhattisgarh cadre from the Select Lists of 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011 respectively,” averred the knowledgeable sources in Police Head Quarters (PHQ).
Sources further explained, as per the Rule 4 of IPS (Regulation or Seniority Rules 1988, the placement of 16 officers in the Select List will see S S Sori and T R Paikra being placed en-block below K C Agrawal (SPS IPS: 2002), the only SPS officer of 2002 batch of Chhattisgarh cadre and above Sunderraj P (IPS: 2003), the senior most direct recruit IPS officer of 2003 of Chhattisgarh cadre.

Alike, D L Manhar, R S Nayak, G S Darro, S C Dwivedi,
Akbar Ram Korram and R P Sai shall be placed en-block below Ratan Lal Dangi (IPS: 2003), the junior most officer of 2003-batch and above Abhishek Pathak (IPS: 2004 ), the senior most direct recruit IPS officer of 2004 batch of Chhattisgarh cadre. Apropos, Sanjeev Shukla and Hetram Manhar shall be placed en-block below Ankit Kumar Garg (IPS: 2004), the junior most IPS officer of 2004 batch and above Amresh Kumar Mishra (IPS: 2005), the senior most direct recruit IPS officer of 2005 batch of Chhattisgarh cadre.

“In this regard, Ajay Kumar Singh, Under Secretary to the Government of India, has shot a letter dated March 14, 2018, asking the Chief Secretary of Chhattisgarh and Secretary Home (Police) to take necessary steps to withdraw all the cases on the similar issue pending in any court of law,” the sources added.