‘Mini Mayor’ elections: BJP wins in 9 zones

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 11 Apr 2018 10:41:11



Special Correspondent,

BSP-Congress alliance fails to dethrone BJP in Mangalwari Zone

High-level drama prevailed in the elections of Mini Mayor of Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) where Congress extended its support to Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) to keep away Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Mangalwari zone, still BJP’s candidate Sangita Girhe won the election by just one vote, as one of the Congress member stayed away from voting. Congress corporator Gargi Chopra’s absence paved the way for BJP to defeat Congress-BSP alliance.

The elections for the Mini Mayor in 10 zones of NMC were held on Tuesday. In Ashi Nagar zone, BSP candidate won the election while BJP registered an easy victory over remaining 9 posts of Zone Chairpersons. District Collector Sachin Kurve was present as Election Officer. NMC Secretary Harish Dube coordinated the election procedure.
BJP’s Girhe defeated BSP candidate Naresh Walde in the election. Congress members supported Walde unconditionally but Gargi Chopra did not turn up for the Mangalwari zone election paving way for BJP. In this zone, BJP has 8 members while Congress has five and BSP has three members.

In the election of Ashi Nagar Zone, three corporators of Congress supported BSP candidate Vandana Chandekar for the post of Mini Mayor. BJP fielded the candidate but their members abstained from the voting while Congress did not contest the election in this zone. BSP has 7 corporators in Ashi Nagar zone while Congress has 6 corporators. The BJP has only three corporators in this zone. Previous year, Congress had supported BJP in the election to keep BSP away from the power. But in changing national narrative, Congress issued whip to give vote to party candidate but in absence of any candidate, its corporators Sandip Sahare, Bhavana Lonare and Manoj Sangole voted in favour of BSP candidate. However, BSP leader Mohd Jamal played down the support of Congress and claimed that BSP has sufficient votes to win the post and they did not require support of Congress.

BJP has 108 members in the house of 151 members house while Congress has 29 members, BSP has 10, Shiv Sena has two members while there is one independent corporator.
In Laxminagar Zone, BJP has given second chance to Prakash Bhoyar for zone chairman’s post. In Dharampeth zone, Pramod Karoti of BJP has been elected unopposed. In Hanuman Nagar Zone, Rupali Thakre has been elected unopposed as zone chairperson.

In Dhantoli zone, Vishakha Bante has been elected as zone chairperson while in Nehru Nagar zone, senior BJP member Rita Muley is elected as zone chairperson. The BJP has given chance to Yashshri Nandanwar from Satranjipura zone. Durga Hattithele, BJP corporator did not participate in the election as she was debarred due to order passed by Nagpur Bench of Bombay High Court over caste validity issue. Deepak Wadibhasme has been elected for second term as zone chairman from Lakadganj zone. Vandana Yengatwar has been elected as chairperson from Gandhibag zone.