‘Perform in Public Admn, Local Village Reformation sectors’

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 11 Apr 2018 11:31:26


Special Correspondent

The Indian Institute of Management (IIM), Raipur convocated 147 students from the Post Graduate Programme 2016-18 Batch, 49 students from the Post Graduate Programme 2015-17 Batch, 10 students from the Post Graduate Programme for working executives-2016-18 Batch and 8 students from the Fellow Programme in Management in the 7th Convocation Ceremony held on Tuesday.Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman was the chief guest of the ceremony while Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh Dr Raman Singh was guest of honour. Distinguished personalities like Shyamala Gopinath, Chairperson, Board of Governors, IIM Raipur and Professor Bharat Bhasker, Director, IIM Raipur hosted the event on behalf of the Institute.

The Gold Medal for Overall Performance was awarded to Partha Sarathi Sahoo, while the BOG Chairperson’s Gold Medal was awarded to Sai Dayitva Gaur. The Director’s Gold Medal was awarded to Garima Bisht and the PGP Chairperson’s Gold Medal was awarded to Yash Wardhan and Prateek Garg. The Gold Medal for PGPWE was awarded to
Jaya Gupta.Sitharaman expressed her pleasure over the fact that the Institute encourages women participation as well as students from various academic backgrounds. She said that in these challenging times where there is a churn at global level, there are a lot of conflicting ideologies. She cited how a socialist country like China is opening up its economy and countries like the US are becoming more and more protectionist. She urged the young, well trained and imaginative minds of IIM Raipur to come forward in areas such as Public Administration and Local Village Reformation.
Shyamala Gopinath called upon the moral and ethical values of the students, asking them to be responsible citizens. Earlier, Prof Bharat Bhasker, Director, IIM Raipur, congratulated the students and faculty members, enumerated their various achievements.