Tearful adieu to Hemchand Yadav

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 13 Apr 2018 11:02:31



Staff Reporter 


Hemchand Yadav, former Cabinet Minister, was given a tearful adieu by the people of Durg. He was cremated with full state honours and his eldest son Rajdeep Yadav lit the pyre. Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh, Speaker Gaurishankar Agrawal, cabinet ministers and several other dignitaries were present at the funeral. Hemchand Yadav died at AIIMS on Wednesday morning after a prolonged illness.Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh while addressing the condolence meeting has announced that Durg University will be named after Hemchand Yadav with immediate effect. Recalling his association with Hemchand Yadav, the Chief Minister said that he was a simple man and whenever he told him anything he would reply ‘Dr Sahab ho jayega, app chinta na kare’. He was easily available to people.

Earlier, funeral procession started from his residence and traversing through important locations in the city reached district BJP Office where his body was kept for last glimpse. Jai Shitla Jyoti Parv Samiti, whose president was Hemchand Yadav, led the funeral procession by singing Jasgeet to pay last respect to their President. Cabinet Ministers Prem Prakash Pandey, Brijmohan Agrawal, Ajay Chandrakar, Ramsheela Sahu, MP Rajya Sabha Saroj Pandey, MP Rajnandgaon Abhishek Singh and his wife, Jageshwar Sahu, Gajendra Yadav paid tributes to Hemchand Yadav at the party office after which the body was taken in a procession to Harnabandha Muktidham.

A beautifully decorated chariot carrying the body of the former minister traversed through Jawahar Chowk, Moti Complex, Indira Market, Farishta Complex, Polsaypara, Takiyapara, Maan Hotel and Shikshak Nagar to reach Harnabandha. People queued along the path and even
showered flowers from the balcony of their houses. District and Police administration had made elaborate arrangements for the funeral.Cabinet Ministers Brijmohan Agrawal, Prem Prakash Pandey and Ramsheela Sahu walked alongside the chariot throughout the procession as a mark of their deep love and respect for the departed soul. Speaker Chhattisgarh Assembly Gaurishankar Agrawal, Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh, former State BJP President Dharamlal Kaushik, Parliamentary Secretary Labhchand Bafna, Chhattisgarh BJP In-charge Anil Jain, former Minister Ravindra Choubey, Chandrashekhar Sahu and Collector Umesh Kumar Agrawal placed wreath at Harnabandha Muktidham.

The distinguished presence included former MLAs Pradeep Choubey and Bhajan Singh Nirankari, MLA Arun Vora and Mayor Bhilai Devendra Yadav, BJP National Joint Secretary (Organisation) Saudan Singh, Ministers Amar Agrawal, Rajesh Munat, Dayaldas Baghel, former Raipur Mayor Sunil Soni, Vijay Baghel, MLAs Awadhesh Chandel, Sanwlaram Dahre, Bisraram Yadav, MLA Gunderdehi R K Rai and BJP Workers in large numbers.