Ashwin Mudgal to be new District Collector

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 16 Apr 2018 10:17:31


Ashwin Mudgal Sachin Kurve






Staff Reporter,

Virendra Singh set to be new Municipal Commissioner

NMRDA Commissioner Dr Deepak Mhaisekar, District Collector Sachin Kurve transferred to Pune, Mumbai respectively

A major change is in the offing in district administration and civic bodies. Municipal Commissioner Ashwin Mudgal is all set to succeed Sachin Kurve as new District Collector while Virendra Singh, presently Director of Municipal Administration at Mumbai and an IAS officer of 2006 batch will be new Municipal Commissioner. Formal orders are likely to be issued by Monday evening, sources confirmed. Interestingly, this is for the first time in recent times, a Municipal Commissioner will be taking over as District Collector. During last 15 years, every Collector stating from Manu Kumar Srivastav, Lokesh Chandra, Dr Sanjay Mukherjee and Pravin Darade, was later shifted either as Municipal Commissioner or NIT Chairman.
Kurve, a 2003 batch IAS officer, after successfully completing his stint as Nagpur District Collector, is tipped for an important assignment at Mumbai.
Some more names are being discussed in top echelons to hold important posts at Nagpur.
Mudgal (2007 batch) took over as Municipal Commissioner in April last replacing Shrawan Hardikar (2005 batch) who was shifted to Pimpri-Chinchvad as Municipal Commissioner. Even Hardikar is tipped to become Pune Collector in place of Saurabh Rao (2003 batch), who is poised to become new Municipal Commissioner of Pune’s civic body.
Similarly, Dr Deepak Mhaisekar, Chairman of Nagpur Improvement Trust (NIT) is likely to be shifted to Pune on a very key position. His successor has not been decided and Mudgal is likely to get additional charge of NIT and NMRDA.
Divisional Commissioner Anoop Kumar, who has completed four years on this key position, is being tipped to get a very important assignment at Mantralaya very soon, according to highly placed sources. Kumar is already a Principal Secretary rank officer and head of 16 important committees. However, his successor has not been finalised yet.