Congressmen stage protest for water crises

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 15 May 2018 10:41:59


Staff Reporter

To vent ire against water crises prevailing in wards under East Assembly, a number of senior Congress leaders, workers and area residents, on Monday staged massive protest at Civic Centre. They also took out a rally from dharna site to Jabalpur Municipal Corporation (JMC) headquarters.After reaching there Congressmen staged massive protest and submitted a memorandum to Mayor Dr Swati Godbole. They also broke empty earthen pots in front of JMC headquarters.In the memorandum Congress leaders said many wards of East Assembly have been facing water severe water crises but the JMC authorities are paying no heed to resolve the problem. They alleged that the situation occurred only due to negligence of concerned authorities.

Senior Congress leader, Lakhan Ghanghoria informed that the Mayor that the Kilkari Garden overhead tank and Milk Scheme overhead tanks have already been completed but the JMC is not operating the tanks due to political self-interest. He said testing of both the tanks have been done but the civic body is not supply water from the tanks.Ghanghoria said, the JMC has to construct as many as 9 overhead tanks under AMRUT Yojana in Naya Gaon, Devtal hill, Agha chowk, Sarvodaya school, Bhoolan Mata Mandir, Bajrang Nagar Ranjhi, Bhongadwar, Shiv Nagar and Kariyapathar. The JMC has already performed bhoomipujan for overhead at eight places but ruling party members are not starting construction work of Kariyapathar overhead as the area represents by a Congress Corporator, Ghanghoria alleged.

He said the pious month of Ramadam is starting from Thursday but the Municipal Corporation is taking no step to resolve water crises in mulsim-dominated areas.Similarly, he said Rs 86 lakh is proposed for construction of overhead tank at Rajababa Ki Kuti under Sanjay Gandhi ward. He said area Corporator has approved Rs 48 lakh through Corporator fund which was also approved by the Municipal Commissioner. But despite giving of technical and administrative approval for the tank, the civic body is not starting construction work.He further said MP Rajya Sabha, Vivek Tankha has already donated money through MP fund to the JMC for drilling of tube well in Shahid Abdul Hameed ward and Lal Bahadur Shashtri ward. The Municipal Commissioner has already approved the same and gave nod for tender process but concerned senior officials are not preparing estimate of the tube well which is delaying
further work. Unwarranted delay on the part of senior officials is turning water crises from bad to worse.

Likewise, required amount for tube well in Dwarka Prasad Mishra ward, Shyama Prasad Mukherjee ward and Jakir Hussain ward have already been approved but the drilling work is not started in the wards.Ghanghoria said the Municipal Corporation is not taking power connection for start of tube well drilled from fund provided by Vivek Tankha in Motilal Nehru ward, Lalbahadur Shashtri ward and Sanjay Gandhi ward.
He said the JMC is not filling Kulihill and Belbagh overhead tanks to full capacity. The negligence has caused water crises in Seth Govinddas ward, Shyama Prasad Mukherjee ward, Dwarka Prasad Mishra ward, Siddhbaba ward, Acharya Vinoba Bhave ward, Sheetlamai ward, Maharshi Arvind ward, Pt. Madan Mohan Malviya and Khermai ward.
Likewise, the JMC is not filling Madar Chhalla overhead tanks which has crated water scarcity in Lal Bahadur Shashtri ward, Thakkar Gram ward, Ravindra Nath Tagore and Shahid Abdul Hameed ward.
Similarly, a number of wards of Cantt. Assembly, Panagar and North Central Assembly are reeling under severe water scarcity. Congressmen have demanded the JMC administration to resolve water crises prevailing in aforementioned ward early.
Amongst those participated in the protest were Dinesh Yadav, Rammurti Mishra, Sammati Saini, Dr Ramakant Rawat, Murlidhar Rao, Mateen Ansari, Surendra Tiwari, Ajam Ali Khan, Umesh Lodhi, Amrish Mishra, Jittu Thakur, Narendra Patel, Pramod Patel, Asif Iqwal, Malti Dubey, Pradeep Tiwari, Bhola Sonkar and others.