K’taka counting today

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 15 May 2018 08:13:16



COUNTING of votes will be taken up on Tuesday for the Karnataka Assembly elections, which pollsters have said would likely go down to the wire, with a neck and neck race between the State’s ruling Congress and challenger BJP.

Several exit polls have predicted a hung Assembly, and said former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda’s JD(S) would play the role of the kingmaker. In one of the most high-profile and bitterly fought elections in recent times, 222 of the 224 seats went to polls on May 12. Polling for R R Nagar seat was deferred on account of alleged electoral malpractices, while it was countermanded in Jayanagar seat following the death of the BJP candidate.

Counting of votes would begin at 8 am in nearly 40 counting centres, election office sources said.
The trends are likely to begin to trickle within an hour and all results are expected to be declared by late evening. In case of a clear verdict in favour of the Congress, the grand old party will have broken the jinx of no political party retaining the reins of the State since 1985, when the erstwhile Janata Dal formed the Government under Ramakrishna Hegde for a second consecutive term. It is, however, unclear if Siddaramaiah, a backward class leader with a formidable reputation, will be the next Chief Minister in the event of a Congress victory.