‘Govt schemes have brought positive change in lives of poor’

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 16 May 2018 11:40:13


Staff Reporter

Various welfare schemes being run by the State Government are transforming the lives of poor in a positive way, said Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh. State Government devised these schemes according to the needs of the people, said Dr Singh while addressing a public gathering at Govindpur Melabhatha in Kanker district of the state on Monday late evening. He visited Kanker under the ongoing ‘Vikas Yatra’.The Chief Minister performed bhumi pujan and laid foundation for 629 developmental projects worth about Rs 285 crore and dedicated nine projects worth Rs 70.42 crore on the occasion. The Chief Minister said that no one in the state sleeps hungry as State Government provides rice at Re 1 per kg apart from free salt and grams. He also mentioned Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s ambitious Ayushman Bharat Yojana which has made the treatment of serious ailments easy for poor. He also mentioned tendupatta collectors who, according to him, are now happy to get Rs 2,500 per sack in place of Rs 400.
10,000 gram panchayats of Bastar region will soon be connected to internet, he said, adding, 50,000 smart phones will be distributed among students, farmers, labourers, women and youth under the ‘Vikas Yatra’.

MP Vikram Usendi also informed the gathering about the welfare schemes being run by the State Government as well as central government. Higher Education Minister Prem Prakash Pandey, Forest Minister Mahesh Gagda, PWD Minister Rajesh Munat, Bastar and South Area Tribal Development Authority vice chairman and Antagarh MLA Bhojraj Nag were present on the occasion. Kanker Collector Taman Singh Sonwani presented the report of development work taking place in the district. Also present on the occasion were Kanker District Panchayat vice president Krishnadevi Sinha, Chhattisgarh Civil Supplies Corporation chairperson Lata Usendi, Chhattisgarh Fisheries Welfare Board chairman Bharat Matiyara, Bastar divisional commissioner Dilip Wasnikar, former housing board chairman Subhash Rao, former MLA Sumitra Markole and Brahmanand Netam, public relations commissioner Rajesh Sukumar Toppo, special secretary to the Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh Mukesh Bansal, IG Vivekananda Sinha and SP K L Dhruw.