MLC polls: Amravati set to witness straight fight

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 04 May 2018 10:51:15


The Hitavada Team,

Pravin Pote of the BJP and Anil Madhogadiya of Congress were the only candidates to submit forms till last day on Thursday

IT IS going to be a straight battle for the biennial elections of Maharashtra Legislative Council from Amravati Local Authority Constituency as till the last date of filing nominations on Thursday, only two forms - that of Anil Madhogadiya, Co-opted Corporator of Congress Party and Pravin Pote of the Bharatiya Janata Party - were submitted.

A total of 38 candidates had taken 46 nomination forms from District Collectorate while only Pravin Pote of BJP and Anil Madhogadiya of Congress Party filed their nomination form.
Anil Madhogadiya who had filed his nomination form on Wednesday, May 2, again filed form on Thursday along with AB form of the party. Pote, who had filed his nomination form a few days back, also presented his AB form on Thursday. Anil Madhogadiya was assisted by Virendra Jagtap, MLA, Bablu Deshmukh, District President of Congress Party, Bablu Shekhawat, Leader of Opposition in AMC, Vilas Ingole, Corporator, Balasaheb Hingnikar, Zilla Parishad Member and many others while filing the nomination form.

Speaking to mediamen after filing nomination form, Anil Madhogadiya expressed his gratitude towards party leader for providing him with the opportunity. He also expressed his confidence stating that he would pull off victory for the party. Virendra Jagtap said that party has fielded a competent candidate in the form of Anil Madhogadiya. Jagtap stated that they would benefit from the internal clashes within the BJP.

The BJP is in alliance with the Shiv Sena while Congress Party has set an alliance with the NCP for the 6 seats in the State. BJP and Sena will contest on 3 seats each while Congress and NCP will also contest 3 seats each. It should be mentioned that has declared its candidates on May 2 while Congress Party made the announcement on Thursday. The scrutiny of the forms will take place on May 4, last date of withdrawal is May 7, voting will take place on May 21 and counting on May 24.