NMC starts drive to clean Nag, Pili and Pora rivers

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 08 May 2018 09:41:35


Special Correspondent,

Every year, the local body undertakes the drive to clean rivers before the onset of monsoon. Last year, NMC had lifted 72,000 tonnes of silt from Nag, Pili and Pora rivers

Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) has kick-started cleaning drive of Nag River, Pili River and Pora River on Monday. All three rivers have significant historical importance and flow inside the city covering a major portion of the second capital. These rivers are highly contaminated since entire sewage of the city is discharged in it without any treatment. Every year, the local body undertakes drive to clean the river before the onset of monsoon. The drive will conclude on June 20.

Nag River cleaning drive began near KDK College, Nandanvan on Monday morning. MLC Anil Sole, MLAs Sudhakar Kohle, Krishna Khopde, Deputy Mayor Deepraj Pardikar, Standing Committee chief Virendra Kukreja, Ruling Party leader Sandip Joshi, Leader of Opposition Tanaji Vanve, Commissioner Virendra Singh, former Mayor Pravin Datke, NCP leader Duneshwar Pethe, Manoj Chafle, Bunty Kukde, Pintu Zalke, Dharampal Meshram, Divya Dhurde, Reeta Mule, Deepak Wadibhasme, Narendra Borkar, Harish Dikondwar, Rajesh Ghodpage, Bharti Bunde, Manisha Kothe and others were present.

The cleaning drive of Pora River commenced at Sahakar Nagar ghat. Mayor Nanda Jichkar, Ruling Party leader Sandip Joshi, Commissioner Virendra Singh, Laxmi Nagar Zone Chairman Prakash Bhoyar, Education Committee Chairman Dilip Dive, Lahukumar Behete, Sandeep Gavai, Kishor Wankhede, Sonali Kadu, Vishaka Mohod, Jaishree Wadibhasme, Meenaxi Telgote, Vanita Dandekar, Pallavi Shamkule, Lata Kadgaye, and others were present.

The drive of Pili River began at Old Kamptee Road Post, Kalmna at the hands of MLC Anil Sole and Deputy Mayor Deepraj Pardikar. Standing Committee Chairman Virendra Kukreja was also present. The local body has deployed machinery and manpower to clean the river. Satranjipura Zone Chairperson Yashshree Nandanwar, corporators Sheshrao Gotmare, Gopichand Kumare, Sanjay Chawre, Bhagyashri Kantode, Manisha Atkare, Niranjana Patil, Rajkumar Sahu, former Assistant Commissioner Rizwan Siddique, Chief Engineer Manoj Talewar, Executive Engineer Prakash Warade, Ashok Patil, Moh. Isreal, Ganesh Kantode and others were present.

NMC has divided rivers into 15 zones for cleaning purpose. Last year, the civic body had lifted 72,000 tonnes of silt from these rivers. Public Works Department, Orange City Water, Irrigation Department, Nagpur Metro railway, WCL and NIT will provide equipments. The silt will be dumped at Bhandewadi dumping yard. This was informed by Additional Commissioner Ravindra Kumbhare.