Maha Metro gets status of spl planning authority for Nagpur Metro rail project 

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 13 Jun 2018 10:48:20


Staff Reporter,

Maharashtra Government has appointed Maha Metro Rail Corporation Limited (MMRCL or Maha Metro) as special planning authority for Nagpur Metro rail project. Urban Development Department of State Government has given special status to Maha Metro under Maharashtra Regional and Town Planning Act, 1966. The order in this regard was issued on Tuesday. The status of special planning authority will help Maha Metro in maintaining the pace of development work of Nagpur Metro rail project. Now, Nagpur Metro will not approach Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) to seek permission for construction of Metro Stations and other works. The latest development will remove the hurdles in construction of Nagpur Metro rail project.

Nagpur Metro is constructing around 40 stations in the city while it has proposed 33 stations in second phase. The total length of the project is 42 kms in the first phase and 48 kms in second phase. Meanwhile, Maha Metro Nagpur has estimated the total cost of the project to be Rs 10,500 crore at present-day price levels of Phase-II. The entire Phase-II network is proposed to be elevated and will be executed in four years after its detailed project report (DPR) gets Government nod. Once the State Government ratifies it, DPR will be submitted to Union Government for its approval.

A senior officer said, the extension of Nagpur Metro would not require depot for maintenance of coaches as Hingna and Khapri depots are sufficient for it. The new network will not require electric supply sub-stations as present Sitabuldi and Rani Jhansi Square sub-stations suffice the power supply requirement of entire network. Sources claimed that Maha Metro will also seek funding from France and Germany for Phase-II of the project. Maha Metro will use its present staff in the second phase. The first phase of Maha Metro Nagpur is progressing well and as per scheduled timelines. Phase-I has four corridors of 41.7 km length with a total of 40 stations.