STF arrests two more accused

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 06 Jun 2018 11:02:58


Staff Reporter

IN A major breakthrough, Special Task Force (STF) Jabalpur team succeeded in apprehending two more accused involved in illegal trade of firearms and seized a 12-bore double barrel factory made rifle, a 12-bore single barrel rifle, 10 country-made revolvers and 4, 12-bore and 40, 0.32 bore live cartridges from them. The accused have been identified as Arvind Pandey, a resident of Damoh district, Upsarpanch of Hridaypur Gram Panchayat and Rajendra Patel, a resident of Jabalpur. Superintendent of Police STF Jabalpur Kamlesh Kharpuse disclosed this while addressing a press conference on Tuesday. SP Kharpuse informed that the two accused have been arrested on identification of earlier arrestedaccused named Donald Devan Jacob, Manish Advin Singh and Shekh Sajid alias Sajid Nawab in a case of 420, 468, 471 and 120B of the IPC and 25, 27 of Arms Act.

During interrogation, Shekh Sajid alias Sajid Nawab informed that he had sold a gun and cartridge to Arvind Pandey. On his identification, STF started a search and succeeded in apprehending him in Damoh on June 1 and seized a 12-bore double barrel rifle from him. STF obtained six days remand of accused for further investigation. During remand, accused informed about more weapons and disclosed name of Rajendra Patel of Jabalpur who purchased weapons from him. On his identification, STF team recovered a 12-bore single barrel gun and 4, 12-bore cartridges from his house. Continuing search, STF arrested Rajendra Patel and recovered 10, 0.32-bore country-made pistols and 43 live cartridges from him. The accused were apprehended under direction of Superintendent of Police, STF Jabalpur, Kamlesh Kharpuse under supervision of DSP Deepesh Agrawal by STF Jabalpur team led by Inspector Hariom Dixit, SI Sarvesh Agrawal, ASI, Vishal Singh, ASI, Raghuveer Singh, Head Constable, Veenu K Verghese, constables, Nirmal Singh, Chatrapal Singh, Neelesh Dubey, Amit Patel, Lekhan Singh Lodhi, Vinod Patel, Harshvardhan Tiwari and Naresh Jatav.