25 new ministers inducted into Kumaraswamy Ministry

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 07 Jun 2018 08:21:38



THE 15-days-old H D Kumaraswamy Ministry in Karnataka was expanded on Wednesday with the induction of 25 Ministers. 14 Ministers are from the Congress, 9 from its ruling coalition partner JDS and 1 each from the BSP and the KPJP.

Governor Vajubhai Vala administered oath of office and secrecy to new Ministers at a ceremony at Raj Bhavan. H D Revanna, son of former Prime Minister and JDS supremo H D Deve Gowda and State senior Congress leaders D K Shivakumar were among those who took the oath.

JDS’ G T Deve Gowda was also inducted. Congress MLC Jayamala was the lone woman Minister. Under the power sharing arrangement, Congress will have 22 Ministers and the JDS 12. With Wednesday’s expansion, the strength of the Ministry has gone up to 27, leaving 7 more vacancies to be filled.

Kumaraswamy had taken oath as Chief Minister and KPCC Chief G Parameshwara as Deputy Chief Minister on May 23.