Ensure death penalty to rapists of minor girls: CM

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 11 Jul 2018 10:31:06



Staff Reporter

RAPISTS of minor girls should be awarded death penalty, said Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan while reviewing law and order situation in Madhya Pradesh during a meeting held in Mantralaya. He also opined that there should be regular monitoring of such cases. Chief Secretary B P Singh and Director General of Police R K Shukla were also present in the meeting. Chouhan said that in such cases, police have taken prompt action against criminals. In Sagar incident, lower court had ordered death penalty in 42 days. Regular follow-up of such cases till the High Court and the Supreme Court should be ensured. Chouhan assured he will review such cases once in every 15 days.

Cases involving small and ordinary crimes to be withdrawn: CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan also issued directions during the meeting to begin process of withdrawal of cases of petty and ordinary crimes of poor and weaker sections. In this connection, directions should be given to all collectors and superintendents of police. He said that a list of such cases should be prepared in all districts by July 31. Programme to honour martyrs on August 14: CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan directed to meet families of martyrs of Army, Police and Para-military forces who sacrificed their lives for the country and honour them on August 14. A programme should be organised for this and tributes should be paid. Through these programmes, not only martyrs will be honoured but patriotic feelings will be inculcated among public. Chief Minister, ministers, MLAs, MPs and senior officials will attend these programmes. This programme will be coordinated by the Home Department and Sainik Kalyan Department. In the meeting it was informed that death penalty has been awarded in nine rape cases in the State by the Lower Court. Those present in the meeting were Principal Secretary to the
Chief Minister Ashok Vernawal, Principal Secretary Home Malay Shrivastava, Additional Director General of Police Rajiv Tandon and Adarsh Katiyar and other senior officials.