First GST anniversary celebrated with zeal

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 02 Jul 2018 10:28:52



In previous financial year, total collection of excise and service tax was Rs 6,000 crore but in first quarter of the
financial year by June the collection is around Rs 8,000 crore

Staff Reporter

FIRST Anniversary of the Goods and Service Tax, GST Day was celebrated on July 1. Chief Justice of the Madhya Pradesh High Court Justice Hemant Gupta was chief guest on the occasion. While Principal Commissioner (Income Tax), O P Yadav, GST Commissioner, Pramod Kumar Agrawal were special guest on the occasion. Chief Guest Chief Justice of MPHC Justice Hemant Gupta accompanied by special guests lit the traditional lamp to mark the programme. There after GST Department officers and employees recited Saraswati Vandana.

Speaking on the occasion, Chief Justice of MPHC Justice Hemant Gupta greeted officials, employees and tax payers on first anniversary of the implementation of GST regime. He said that majority of laws in the country are of pre-independence era. And GST is a law that which has been enforced in direct tax regime across the country. He added that in a country with a huge population in which only two per cent people are paying taxes, while the burden of rest 98 non-tax payers are on shoulders of just two per cent people. He said that GST and tax reforms brought in recent times would surely enhance the number of tax payers and in coming days the tax payers ration would enhance to 10 per cent. He said this would encourage better development plans of the country. Addressing the programme, CGST Commissioner Pramod Agrawal extending greetings on first anniversary of GST. He said in past one year GST Commissioner Jabalpur had witnessed changes. In year 2016-17 number of tax payers were around 12,000 but the base in past one year has grown to 28,000 tax payers. In previous financial year, total collection of excise and service tax was Rs 6,000 crore but in first quarter of the financial year by June the collection is around Rs 8,000 crore.

On the occasion, different stake holders were felicitated. Special welcome of Highest tax payer organisations including Railway Department, Vehicle Factory Jabalpur and Standard Auto Agency Jabalpur as well as outstanding performers of GST Department Superintendents, Vivek Verma, Somen Goswami, S K Raikwar, D K Markam, Inspector Gyanu Gupta, Ashish Verma, Mohit Rathod, Chinmaya Diwedi, Pradeep Hajari and Jai Kishan were honoured.Senior Standing Council Siddharth Seth, Brijesh Sinha, Presiding Officer DRT, SGST’s Abha Jain, Assistant Commissioner Abha Jain, MCCI President, Ravi Gupta, JCCI’s Prem Dubey, TBA, M M Nema, MLUS, D R Jaiswani, LUS, Arun Jain, CA Association, Saurabh Jain along with officers shared their views on the occasion.

GST Joint Commissioner Manish Jaiswal proposed vote of thanks. Eminent those who were present include Teekendra Kumar Kripal, P S Juneja, Superintendents of the Department, Inspectors Rakesh Joshi, Mukehs Barman, Devendra Verma, Mohit Rathod, Chinmai Diwedi and others.After the programme, a street play was staged by team of Rang Abhiyaan and Natyalok Sanstha based on GST and its contribution in the development of country.