Congress leaders, workers court arrest

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 04 Jul 2018 16:58:43



Staff Reporter


Hundreds of Congress leaders and workers courted arrest in the State Capital on Tuesday after they were stopped by the police from marching towards Chhattisgarh. The Urban District Congress Committee (UDCC) Raipur had called for‘Vidhan Sabha Gherao” in the State Capital to highlight the plight of farmers and on a wide range of issues including atrocities on women, unemployment and prohibition. The Congress leaders and workers gathered near Mandi Chowk in the State Capital where a public meeting was held. Addressing the gathering, State Congress President Bhupesh Baghel raised various allegations against the State government and urged the party workers to de-throw the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government in upcoming assembly elections.

In his address, All India Congress Committee (AICC) Secretary for Chhattisgarh Dr Chandan Yadav said that people from middle class are being penalized by the BJP government and they are working only to benefit few capitalists. Former Minister Satyanarayan Sharma, Deputy CongressLegislative Party (CLP) leader Kawasi Lakhma, Rajya Sabha Member Chhay Verma, Karuna Shukla, Mayor Pramod Dubey and other leaders addressed the public meeting. The police had erected barricades on the middle of the road near Avantibai Chowk. All the protests were prevented by the police as they were marching to gherao Vidhan Sabha. A tussle took place between the protestors and the police. Several Congress leaders including Vikas Upadhyay and Dhananjay Singh Thakur sustained minor injuries in the protest. Several police personnel also sustained minor injuries in the protest.

Mahila Congress President Phulodevi Netam, CPCC’s DCC President (Urban) Vikas Upadhyay, DCC President (Rural) Narayan Kurre, Shailesh Nitin Trivedi, Pankaj Sharma, Ghanshyam Raju Tiwari, Vikas Tiwari, Ezaz Keshar, Dhananjay Singh Thakur and other Congress leaders courted arrest.
Additional Superintendent of Police (City) Prafull Thakur said that the protestors were stopped near Avantibai Chowk as they were marching towards Vidhan Sabha. Rajya Sabha Member Chhaya Verma, MLAs Kawasi Lakhma, Satyanarayan Sharma, Bhupesh Baghel and other leaders courted arrest. Later they were released, he added.