Ajay Kumar Tripathi sworn in as Chief Justice of CG

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 08 Jul 2018 10:31:37


Staff Reporter,


The newly-appointed Chief Justice of Chhattisgarh Ajay Kumar Tripathi was administered oath by Governor Balramji Dass Tandon in a programme organised at Raj Bhawan on Saturday. Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh, Chhattisgarh Assembly Speaker Gaurishankar Agrawal and many prominent persons were present during the oath-taking ceremony. Alka Tripathi, wife of the Chief Justice Tripathi, and other members of the family also attended the ceremony.

It is worthwhile to mention, Central Government had notified the appointment of Patna High Court judge, Ajay Kumar Tripathi as Chief Justice of Chhattisgarh High Court.
Born in 1957, Justice Tripathi graduated with an Honours degree in Economics from Sri Ram College of Commerce. He obtained his law degree from Campus Law Centre, Delhi.

After his enrolment in 1981, his areas of legal practice included service law, constitutional law, taxation, excise and commercial litigation. He has served as standing counsel for the Union Income Tax Department. Among other roles, he has also appeared as special counsel for the CBI and the Comptroller and Auditor General of India.
He was elevated as an Additional Judge of the Patna High Court on October 9, 2006 and was made a permanent judge of the court in November 2007. Additionally, he has also been involved in setting up the Chanakya National Law University (CNLU), Patna. Further, he is a member of the Academic Council for National Law School of India University (NLSIU), Bangalore as well as a special invitee the Bar Council of India’s Education Committee.

He will be taking the place of Chief Justice Thottathil B Radhakrishnan, who has been transferred as Chief Justice of the Hyderabad High Court for Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.
Also present on the occasion were ministers Prem Prakash Pandey, Brijmohan Agrawal, Amar Agrawal, Ajay Chandrakar, Ramsewak Paikra, Mahesh Gagda and Bhaiya Lal Rajwade and MLA Chandrashekhar Sahu.

Mayor Pramod Dubey, Lok Ayukt Chief S N Shrivastav, State Electoral Officer Thakur Ram Singh, Information Commissioner Ashok Agrawal, A K Singh, State Public Service Commission Chairman K R Pisda, RDA Chairman Sanjay Shrivastav, Padma Shri Dr Mahadev Prasad Pandey and Dr Ramendra Nath Mishra.

Chhattisgarh High Court Registrar General Neelam Chand Sankhla, Judges Pritinker Diwaker, Prashant Kumar Mishra, Manindra Mohan Shrivastav, Sanjay Kumar Agrawal, Sanjay Shyam Agrawal, RCS Samant, Sharadchandra Gupta, R P Sharma, Arvind Singh Chandel, P P Sahu, Gautam Chauradia, Vimla Kapoor and Rajni Dubey. Additional Chief Secretaries of Chhattisgarh government Sunil Kujur and KDP Rao, DGP A N Upadhyay, Principal Secretary Amitabh Jain, Principal Secretary to the Chief Minister Aman Kumar Singh, Secretary Subodh Kumar Singh, Secretary to the Governor Surendra Kumar Jaiswal, GAD Secretary Rita Shandilya and DPR Director Chandrakant Uike were present during the ceremony. Chief Secretary Ajay Singh conducted the oath ceremony.


I will try to give swift, transparent, right justice to everyone: CJ Tripathi

Talking to the media after swearing-in ceremony on Saturday at Raj Bhawan, Chief Justice of Chhattisgarh High Court Ajay Kumar Tripathi said that he will try to give swift, transparent and right justice to every person in the state, who is looking for justice, in shortest possible time. The swearing-in is not only for the post only rather it is for Chhattisgarh, said the Chief Justice, adding, he will see what better he can do in the interest of Chhattisgarh.

To a query about pending cases, the Chief Justice said that he will take care of this but sought some time. “Let me put my mind, body and soul together. I just arrived in Chhattisgarh. I hope, we all can give judiciary a new dimension,” said the Chief Justice.