NMC to launch mobile app for payment of property tax

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 08 Jul 2018 09:25:29


Staff Reporter,

Complete target of Rs 500 cr in this FY, Kukreja to Jadhav

Tax Committee of Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) has directed Property Tax Department to complete the survey of properties by July 31. NMC is also launching a mobile application for the payment of property tax.
“We will not allow any reason for the delay in the survey of the properties. All the property holders should receive demand notes on time and employees should collect tax of Rs 500 crore as per the given target,” directed Sandeep Jadhav, Tax Committee Chairman, in a review meeting held on Saturday.

The Cybertech Company and Anant Technology are jointly conducting the survey of properties in the city. “The last day for completing the survey is July 31. No extension will be given to both the companies,” he added and directed them to make proper planning for completing the survey within time frame. He said, “The department has also started the process to collect maximum property tax. There should be separate cell for the recovery of property tax.” He directed to take help of Health Department for the tax related work.

Virendra Kukreja, Standing Committee Chairman said, “We have decided property tax target of Rs 500 crore in this financial year. The quarterly target has been decided and employees will have to complete the target in that quarter only. The employees missed to achieve the first quarter target, now, they have to achieve the target of both the quarters by September 30.”

Milind Meshram, Assistant Commissioner (Tax) said that around 3244 objections were received by the department over the survey conducted by Cybertech and Anant Technologies. The department has cleared 2667 objections while remaining 577 objections are under process. Till now, survey of 4,56,338 properties has been completed. The data of 4.04 lakh properties has been sent to competent authority for the decision.

A presentation of mobile application was given before the committee.Sunil Agrawal, senior corporator, Yashshri Nandanwar, Meenaxi Telgote, Bhavana Lonare, Mangla Lanjewar, all zonal officers and tax assessors were present in the meeting.