55 tehsils in Vidarbha declared ‘cotton growing’

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 29 Aug 2018 09:55:28


Staff Reporter,


Tehsils with cotton production of 9,600 tonnes per annum declared ‘cotton growing’ ones

Of a total 115 such tehsils in Maharashtra, as many as 55 are in Vidarbha region alone

Under the new Textile Policy, which will be implemented between 2018-23, State Government has declared ‘cotton growing’ tehsils in Maharashtra. Accordingly, total 115 tehsils are cotton growing. Of these, as many as 55 are in Vidarbha region alone.

As per the decision announced officially on Tuesday, these tehsils have been declared as ‘cotton growing’ ones as the cotton production there is 9,600 tonnes per annum. This much of cotton production is needed to sustain a co-operative spinning mill. The objective of the decision is to identify the tehsils where co-operative spinning mills could be set up under the new Textile Policy.

As per the norms, a co-operative spinning mill with capacity of 25,200 spindles requires 28,800 bales of cotton per annum. As one bale is 170 kg of cotton, total 28,800 bales will mean 4,896 tonnes of cotton. To sustain, a co-operative spinning mill requires 4,896 tonnes of cotton per annum. Else, it will face problem of availability of cotton. Considering this calculation, State Government’s Co-operation, Marketing, and Textile Department has set the norm of setting up a co-operative spinning mill under the new Textile Policy in tehsils where cotton production is double the above-mentioned requirement per annum.

The decision of declaring 115 tehsils as ‘cotton growing’ based on the above parameter, will have a long-term impact on growth of textile sector in a planned manner. In the past, spinning mills were set up in parts of Maharashtra that were not cotton producing. Thus, the cotton belt was deprived of the natural opportunity for growth of textile sector. With the new policy, the present-day Government has taken a bold step to ensure that foundation of properly planned cotton-to-cloth chain development is laid.

The number of ‘cotton growing’ tehsils in various districts are as follows: Jalgaon -- 15, Ahmednagar -- one, Aurangabad and Amravati -- nine each; Jalna, Nanded, and Akola -- seven each, Beed -- five, Parbhani and Nagpur -- six each; Hingoli -- two, Buldhana and Wardha -- eight each; Yavatmal -- 13, and Chandrapur -- four. Jalgaon and Yavatmal are the districts with the highest number of ‘cotton growing’ tehsils.

The list of ‘cotton growing’ tehsils will be reviewed every year, and the tehsils with over 9,600 tonnes per annum cotton production for two consecutive years will be included.


‘Cotton growing’ tehsils in Vidarbha

Buldhana -- Jalgaon Jamod, Sangrampur, Deulgaon Raja, Sindkhed Raja, Khamgaon, Malkapur, Motala, Nandura

Akola -- Akot, Telhara, Balapur, Patur, Akola, Barshitakli, Murtijapur

Amravati -- Chandur Railway, Dhamangaon, Teosa, Morshi, Warud, Daryapur, Anjangaon, Achalpur, Chandur Bazar

Yavatmal -- Yavatmal, Kalamb, Darwha, Arni, Pusad, Umarkhed, Mohgaon, Wani, Maregaon, Jhari Jamni, Kelapur, Ghatanji, Ralegaon

Wardha -- Arvi, Karanja, Ashti, Wardha, Seloo, Deoli, Hinganghat, Samudrapur

Nagpur -- Nagpur Rural, Hingna, Parseoni, Narkhed, Kalmeshwar, Umred

Chandrapur -- Warora, Bhadravati, Rajura, Korpana