Guidelines issued for smooth Assembly elections in C’garh

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 01 Sep 2018 11:04:07



Staff Reporter


Chief Election Commissioner O P Rawat, who reached Capital on Friday morning along with Election Commissioners Sunil Arora and Ashok Lavasa, were given a rousing welcome at Swami Vivekananda Airport, Raipur by Subrat Sahoo, Chief Electoral Officer, Chhattisgarh.
Chief Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat along with Election Commissioners Sunil Arora and Ashok Lavasa as well as Senior Deputy Election Commissioner Umesh Sinha are on a 2-day visit to the capital along with their 10-member team. The Chief Election Commissioner chaired marathon meetings with administrative and police officials. Keeping in the view the forthcoming Assembly elections due in Chhattisgarh, the Chief Election Commissioner held meetings for reviewing the preparations at New Circuit House.

According to the meeting schedules, the Chief Election Commissioner along with Election Commissioners and Senior Deputy Election Commissioner held meetings with representatives of different political parties followed by meeting with Commissioners, Range IGs, Collectors and Superintendents of Police. The Chief Election Commissioner also held meetings with Collectors and Superintendents of Police from 14 districts affected with Left Wing Extremism. Later in the evening the CEC held meetings with Chief Secretary, Director General of Police and other senior officials.

On the occasion, the Chief Election Commissioner gave necessary tips and directives for carrying out the Assembly General Elections-2018 smoothly to the administrative and police officials. During the meeting, the CEC sought information regarding the election preparations one by one from the District Electoral Officers (District Collectors) and District Superintendents of Police, regarding their respective districts. As the meeting started CEO Chhattisgarh Subrat Sahoo gave a power-point presentation to draw a detailed assembly-wise picture about the preparations carried out for Assembly General
Elections-2018. Apart from the CEC and ECs, present during the meeting were Senior Deputy Election Commissioner Umesh Sinha, Deputy Election Commissioners Sudeep Jain and Sandeep Saxena, Director General (Expenses) Dileep Sharma, Director General (Communications) Dhirendra Ojha, Director General (IT) V N Shukla, Additional Director General (Communications) cum ECI Spokesperson Shefali B Sharan, Additional CEO Chhattisgarh Dr S Bharatidasan apart from all Range (IGs), all Divisional Commissioners and nodal officials appointed for electoral purposes.

On September 1, the Chief Election Commissioner will be holding meetings with officials from Central and State Excise departments, Income Tax, police