16,000 new houses to be built under PMHS (Urban)

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 28 Sep 2018 11:06:15


Staff Reporter,


Chief Secretary Ajay Singh on Thursday presided over the
meeting of state-level Sanction and Monitoring Committee under Prime Minister Housing Scheme (Urban) held in Mahanadi Bhavan.

During the meeting, proposals of construction of 16,047 new houses, worth Rs 610.56 crore, to be constructed at 137 different urban areas in state came up for discussion. These houses will be allotted to eligible slum-dwellers in urban areas.

After rehabilitation of slum dwellers, it should be ensured that the land is not encroached again, directed Chief Secretary.
In the meeting, Special Secretary of Urban Administration and Development Niranjan Das informed that construction of 16,047 in 137 urban areas is proposed under Prime Minister Housing Scheme.

This includes construction of 6904 new houses for rehabilitation of 60 slum areas in Bilaspur, Raigarh, Raipur, Sarangarh, Ahiwara, Simga, Balod, Jaijaipur, Adbhar, Lormi, Kharod, Lailunga, Kirodmal Nagar, Kumhari, Malhar, Sargaon, Gobranavapara and Pithora area.

Likewise, 9,143 houses will be constructed for rehabilitation of slums in 118 urban areas in Bastar, Raipur, Bilaspur, Durg
and Sarguja.

The meeting was attended by Principal Secretary (Finance) Amitabh Jain, Principal Secretary Housing and Environment Sanjay Shukla, Revenue Secretary A K Khakha, Special Secretary Chhattisgarh Housing Board Siddhartha Komal Pardeshi and other senior department officials were present.