EC releases final electoral list of C’garh

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 28 Sep 2018 11:30:27



Staff Reporter,


Total 1,85,45,819 voters will cast their franchise in the ensuing Chhattisgarh Assembly elections-2018

Raipur district has highest 16,44,870 electors while Naraianpur district has lowest 82,448 voters

4,96,954 new voters are aged between 18 and 19 years
























The Election Commission has released the final electoral roll of Chhattisgarh on Thursday. Talking to mediapersons here on Thursday, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Subrat Sahoo said that the total number of voters now stands at 1,85,45,819 including 92,95,301 male voters and 92,49,459 female voters. Raipur district has highest 16,44,870 electors while Narainpur district has lowest 82,448 voters.

There are one overseas voter, 1,11,620 persons with Disabilities (PWDs) voters, 14093 service voters and 1059 third gender voters in the state, he added.
6,09,895 Form6 and 2,43,511 Form7 were received during the special drive. In this way, 3,66,384 voters have increased this year.  There are 4,96,954 first time voters, whose age is in between 18 and 19 years and 3140 voters, whose age is above 100 years.

Sahoo said that online contest is being organised on the Facebook Page and #Chhattisgarh Votes of the Chief Electoral Officer Chhattisgarh under the Systematic Voters’ Education and Electoral Participation (SVEEP) programme. The Commission has taken special initiative to provide wheel chair to PWDs voters in the upcoming assembly elections. Flying squads, district and assembly level expenditure surveillance teams, static surveillance teams, Video Viewing Team (VVT), Video Surveillance Team (VST) and others have been constituted to keep close eyes to check malpractices during the upcoming assembly elections, he added.

Replying to a query on negative report of some district electoral officers, the Chief Electoral Officer said that the State Election Commission had sent its report to the Election Commission of India for further action and he refused to give any detail on this matter. The officers of the Excise Department and Transport Department have been instructed to take effective measures to check illegal transportation and distributions of liquors during the elections, Sahoo stated. The Chief Electoral Officer said that action would be taken on “unusual” and “suspicious” cash transactions exceeding Rs 1 lakh by candidates during assembly elections. If over Rs 10,00,000 is seized by the flying squad, the matter will be referred to the Income Tax Department, he added.