Gram Panchayat elections: BJP claims huge victory, others claim major gain

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 28 Sep 2018 09:41:12

    (left) Dr Rajiv Potdar, District President of BJP, celebrating victory of the party candidates at 218 out of 373 Gram Panchayats on Thursday. (right)  Rajendra Mulak, District President of Congress, with party workers waving victory sign after declaration of results of GP elections.         


The Hitavada Team,

Total 373 GPs in the district went to polls

BJP claims to have won 218, NCP claims victory at 200-plus GPs, Shiv Sena stakes claim over 97, and Congress claims win at 133 GPs


Party-wise tally as per Congress

Party             Seats won

Congress            133
BJP                    120
NCP                    96
Shiv Sena          19
Independent       14
Total                 382


The results of elections to 373 Gram Panchayats (GPs) in Nagpur district were declared on Thursday. However, the picture regarding party-wise dominance in results was hazy as various parties claimed gains. The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) claimed to have won 218 out of 373 GPs and Congress claimed ‘major gains’. Shiv Sena claimed to have won 97 seats of Sarpanch, and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) also claimed big win in Katol and Narkhed tehsils.

Chandrashekhar Bawankule, Guardian Minister of district, claimed that BJP had won 28 out of total 373 GPs in Nagpur district that went to polls. In Kamptee tehsil, BJP won four GPs namely Nanha, Bidgaon, Babhulkheda, and Warambha. It registered victory in 19 out of 31 GPs in Mouda tehsil, 10 out of 12 GPs in Nagpur (Rural) tehsil, eight out of 26 in Umred tehsil, and so on. In Pipla GP, he said, voters dethroned Congress and put trust in BJP. “The massive win indicates that people’s faith in good governance by BJP and development activities ushered in by Devendra Fadnavis, Chief Minister, and Nitin Gadkari, Union Minister of Road Transport and Highways,” Bawankule said.

Dr Rajiv Potdar, District President of BJP, stated that BJP candidates got elected unopposed to the post of Sarpanch at Brahmani Railway in Umred tehsil and Pokali and Pirwa in Bhiwapur tehsil. “I assure the people that all our Sarpanch and GP members will work hard to extend the benefits of development to the last man,” he stated in a press release. D Mallikarjun Reddy, Ramtek MLA, stated that BJP had won the seats of Sarpanch in 15 GPs in Ramtek tehsil, followed by 12 in Parseoni tehsil, and four others in Ramtek constituency.

Krupal Tumane, Shiv Sena MP from Ramtek, claimed that panels supported by Shiv Sena had emerged victorious in 97 GPs. Adv Ashish Jaiswal, former MLA of Shiv Sena and Chairman of Maharashtra State Mining Corporation, stated that Shiv Sena and Congress joined hands in Bhandarbodi GP where the party was in a dominating position. In Kachurwahi, though Sarpanch elected was of Prahar, seven members of GP were of Shiv Sena.


Rajendra Mulak, former Minister of State and District President of Congress party, claimed that Congress and NCP put together had won 229 GPs followed by BJP winning 120, Shiv Sena 19, and Independents winning 14 seats of Sarpanch. He stated in a press release that Congress office-bearers and workers worked hard to ensure party’s victory in GP elections. “In all six Assembly constituencies in Nagpur rural, Congress has won 133 seats of Sarpanch, NCP has won 96, and the ruling BJP could win only 120,” he stated in a press release.

In Saoner constituency, Sunil Kedar, Congress MLA, retained his influence. Congress claimed to have won 20 GPs out of total 27 in Saoner tehsil, and 10 out of total 19 in Parseoni tehsil. Manohar Kumbhare, Leader of Opposition in ZP, claimed that ini his native place Nandikheda, Congreess had won all seats including that of Sarpanch.


Anil Deshmukh, former Minister and senior leader of NCP, claimed that NCP had won 90 per cent of the seats in Katol and Narkhed tehsils. NCP has won 67 out of 87 seats of Sarpanch in Katol Assembly constituency, he said. NCP won 40 out of 53 seats in Katol tehsil, 24 out of 30 in Narkhed tehsil, and three out of four in Nagpur (Rural) tehsil, he claimed. “Through GP polls, the people from rural areas of the district have hinted that they are not happy with BJP-led Government. There is resentment over loan waiver, lack of aid for cotton and soyabean growers, delay in clearing of Tur procurement dues etc,” he said. On BJP’s claim of winning 218 out of 373 GPs in district, Deshmukh challenged BJP to come up with GP-wise list of its winning candidates.

Pravin Kunte Patil, Spokesperson and State General Secretary of NCP, claimed that Congress and NCP put together had won more than 200 GPs out of 373 that went to polls in the district.
Rameshchandra Bang, former Minister and District (Rural) President of NCP, also claimed that Congress and NCP combined had won 226 GPs and ‘proved indisputable dominance’ in rural areas of Nagpur district.


Sameer Meghe, BJP MLA from Hingna, stated in a press release that BJP had won 25 seats of Sarpanch out of total 41 in Hingna tehsil. Besides, he added, Sarpanch of BJP-supported panels won nnine out of 18 seats in Nagpur (Rural) tehsil. “The voters have stood firmly with BJP owing to developmental works done by the party,” he said.
In Ramtek tehsil, Shiv Sena won 13 seats of Sarpanch, Congress won 10, and BJP won three seats. In three Gram Panchayats namely Khairi Bijewada, Shitalwadi, Kachurwahi, and Bhandarbodi, BJP could not win a single seat of even the members. In Dahegaon, Prakash Gajbhiye, a candidate supported by local leader Kishor Chaudhary won the seat of Sarpanch. Gajbhiye polled 1,340 votes, followed by Congress candidate polling 1,004 votes, and BJP candidate Madhukar Gondane finishing third with 672 votes. (With inputs from Our Correspondents at Ramtek, Kalmeshwar, Khaparkheda)


Jolt to bigwigs

Amid claims and counter-claims, some part relating to jolt to BJP bigwigs remained uncountered. Congress claimed that it had swept GP poll results in Dhapewada and Pachgaon. Dhapewada is native place of Nitin Gadkari, Union Minister of Road Transport and Highways. Pachgaon is a village he had adopted under Saansad Adarsh Gram Yojana. In Dhapewada, Congress-supported candidate Suresh Dongre emerged victorious. Another Congress-supported candidate Usha Thakre emerged victorious in Pachgaon. Congress claimed to have won 16 out of 17 seats in Dhapewada, and 10 out of 11 in Pachgaon. Congress also claimed that it won three out of four seats of GP Sarpanch under Fetri-Bokhara circle of Zilla Parishad (ZP).

Fetri is a village adopted by Devendra Fadnavis, Chief Minister. NCP claimed that Congress had dominated GP at Kawtha-Mhasala, which is native place of Chandrashekhar Bawankule, Guardian Minister of district. Further, out of total 11 GPs in Kamptee tehsil, Congress won seven and BJP won four. BJP also acknowledged this fact.

Devendra Godbole, former ZP member of Shiv Sena, claimed that Shiv Sena had dominated results in Tarsa-Chacher ZP circle by winning five out of seven GPs. However, BJP pointed out that Shiv Sena had lost in Kumbhari GP, which is a native place of Godbole. Also, BJP claimed that Janshakti Panel formed by BJP-Sena alliance had won all 17 seats in Sawargaon GP in Narkhed tehsil thereby ending NCP rule of several years.