Cong may find going tough in Surkhi

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 30 Sep 2018 10:18:54


By Ashish Rajput,

Congress Party will have to work hard to regain its lost strength in Sagar’s Surkhi Assembly Constituency No-37. Senior Congress leader Govind Singh Rajput had a close contest against Bharatiya Janata Party’s Parun Sahu Keshri and faced defeat by a close margin of only 141 votes in 2013 Assembly elections. Govind Singh had won the elections against BJP candidates by the lead of over 12,000 votes in 2008 and 2003 elections.

In the Assembly Elections-2013, a total number of 1,34,867 polling turnout against 1,84,527 registered voters was registered. A total number of 18 nominations were submitted, one was rejected and 17 candidates contested the elections. Bharatiya Janata Party’s Parun Sahu Keshri (59,513 votes) registered a close victory against sitting MLA, Congress’ Govind Singh Rajput (59,372 votes) by the lead of 141 votes. Bahujan Samaj Party’s Gopal Ahirwar (2,560 votes), Communist Party of India’s Hafiz Bhai (1,483 votes), Jan Nyaya Dal’s Dr Chattar Singh Lodhi (436 votes), Bahujan Sangharsh Dal’s Bali Prasad Choudhary (254 votes), Samajwadi Party’s Rakesh Parosi (647 votes), Akhil Bharatiya Gondwana Party’s Ramdas Rajak (128 votes), Apna Dal’s Rekha Laxman Kurmy (119 votes), Gondwana Gantantra Party’s Lokmanya Singh (487 votes), independent candidates, Govind Rathore (556 votes), Deepak Khatik (445 votes), Naseem (509 votes), Rajaram Patel (5,259 votes), Raju Ramkishan (1,375 votes), Rajendra Singh Malkhan Singh (1,220 votes) and Kisan Mazdoor Praja Party’s Shaifuddin Hirankhera (424 votes) were the other candidates in the fray.

In the Assembly Election-2008, total 1,09,298 voters out of 1,47,531 voters used their voting rights. Total 13 nominations were filed, one was rejected, two were withdrawn and 10 candidates contested elections. Congress candidate Govind Singh Rajput (54,966 votes) routed Bharatiya Janata Party’s Rajendra Sigh Mokalpur (42,528 votes) by the lead of 12,438 votes. Samajwadi Party’s Badri Tiwari (1,377 votes), Gondwana Gantantra Party’s Kashiram Patel (1,141 votes), Gondwana Mukti Sena’s Prakash Shikari (705 votes), Bharatiya Jan Shakti’s Dr Pradumn Bhargava (4,668 votes), independent candidates, Gokal Singh (418 votes), Rajendra Singh (671 votes), Ramdas Rajak (842 votes) and Rahul Garg (1,973 votes) were the other contestants for the seat.

In the Assembly Election-2003, total 1,08,026 voters used their voting right against total 1,41,212 voters. Eleven nominations were filed, four were rejected, one was withdrawn and six candidates contested elections. Congress candidate Govind Singh Rajput (58,648 votes) registered victory against Bharatiya Janata Party’s Bhupendra Singh (44,783 votes) by the lead of 13,865 votes. Janata Party’s Kamal Singh Lodhi (1,216 votes), independent candidates Krishna Kumar Upadhyay (567 votes), Prahlad Singh (1,027 votes) and Bhupendra Singh (1,785 votes) were the other contestants.