BJP MLAs for flawless electoral rolls

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 08 Sep 2018 12:09:03


Staff Reporter,

A delegation of legislators and senior office-bearers of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which is ruling in the Centre as well as State, has urged the administration to carry out revision of electoral rolls properly and make the voters’ list flawless.

The delegation led by Sudhakar Kohale, MLA and City President of BJP; Sudhakar Deshmukh, Party Whip; Vikas Kumbhare, MLA; Sandip Joshi, Ruling Party Leader in Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC), pointed out to the administration that there were errors in existing electoral rolls. The draft rolls published on September 1, 2018, as part of the programme for revision, has booth numbers and part numbers different from mother rolls published previously. As a result, they alleged, voters will face problems while submitting application forms for even corrections or new entries.

As per the new list, some new polling booths have been created and changes have been efffected in old booths. However, alleged BJP leaders, the political parties were not consulted while making these changes. Previously, such changes were done only after consulting political parties, they pointed out in a memorandum submitted to Ashwin Mudgal, District Collector.

BJP leaders stated in the memorandum that the existing electoral rolls were not properly made. The rolls should be made as per the colonies or plot/house numbers so that voters can find their names/numbers easily. There are discrepancies in electoral rolls as members of one family are given different polling booths, names of many voters are incorrectly mentioned, photographs of voters are not clear, names of voters who are dead/migrated to other place are still in the list etc. Besides, there is duplication of names. Also, there are complaints that Booth Level Officers appointed by the administration are not available at given polling booths in given time to accept forms for new voter entry or correction.

“After studying the electoral rolls, we have come to the conclusion that there are discrepancies. The main reason is that comprehensive revision of electoral rolls has not been conducted in the past 15 years by visiting door-to-door,” BJP MLAs stated in the memorandum. Against the backdrop, they demanded, the administration should carry out revision properly and make electoral rolls flawless.

Kishor Palandurkar, Ramesh Dalal, Ramesh Bhandari, Archana Dehankar, Ram Ambulkar, Chandrashekhar Dorlikar, Ramesh Wankhede, Sujit Thakur, Rupa Rai, Seema Dhomne and others also accompanied BJP MLAs during submission of memorandum to the administration.

Congress meeting today

Staff Reporter,

Nagpur City (District) Congress Committee has organised its meeting at 12 noon on Saturday at Devadia Congress Bhavan, Chitnis Park, Mahal. Vikas Thakre, City President of the party, will preside over the meeting.  The meeting has been organised to prepare for the ‘Bharat Bandh’ call given by All India Congress Committee to protest against fuel price hike. Dr Gajraj Hatewar, General Secretary of Nagpur City (District) Congress Committee, has appealed to the office-bearers, former ministers, former Members of Parliament, corporators, office-bearers and workers of frontal organisations to attend the meeting.