MP Dharmaseva Deptt shortlists 5 ancient temples for protection

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 08 Sep 2018 13:54:35


Staff Reporter,

Divisional Commissioner Ashutosh Awasthi has applauded the contribution of Indian National Trust of Art, Culture and Heritage (INTACH) Jabalpur Unit in protection and conservation of historical and heritageous arts and culture. He emphasised over protection of Madan Mahal hills and informed that works related to INTACH will be given pace under the head of Smart City Project. Divisional Commissioner was addressing a meeting of INTACH Jabalpur Unit, on Friday.

Chairing the meeting, he informed that Madhya Pradesh Dharmaseva Department has shortlisted five ancient temples for their protection and its detailed project report is being prepared. He informed that some archaeological remains were found in village Biharai and their protection will be carried out. It was informed that heritages of Jabalpur have been listed in a book named ‘Virasat Jabalpur’. The book has been published in assistance with Dr S N Sharma, Head of History and Archaeology Department, Rani Durgawati University. Discussions were held on protection of ancient temples at Devtal with mutual co-ordination of Jabalpur Municipal Corporation and INTACH.

INTACH, Jabalpur Unit, Convenor, Dr R K Sharma presented annual accounts reports while informed that a day-long workshop on Jago Heritage and Citizenship would be organised by INTACT, on September 28 at Government Mankunwar Bai Women’s College while a national seminar on Gio-Archaeological Destination would be organised in December 2018. These events will be organised under the head of Smart City Project. He also informed that Jabalpur Unit has been given a research project by INTACH headquarters for compilation of A Dictionary of Historical Place Names of Madhya Pradesh.

During the meeting, Jabalpur Municipal Corporation, Commissioner, Chandramauli Shukla, INTACH, Senior members, Rajendra Tiwari, Radheshyam Agrawal, Medha Dubey, Dr Anupam Sinha, Dr S K Tiwari, Dr Chhaya Rai, Sanjeev Salil, Dr R N Shrivastava, Dr Vandana Gupta, Dr S N Mishra, Dr Sadhya Upadhyay, Rohit Pateria and others were present.