Stage set for three-day Marathi literary meet

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 11 Jan 2019 10:17:05


By Kartik Lokhande,

As soon as one enters the town of Yavatmal, one can see the banners and hoardings adorning prominent locations. Policemen and police vehicles could be seen moving around in a flurry. It is a town abuzz with activity for the three-day gala event. On Thursday, the organisers were surrounded by people at Tilak Smarak Mandir. The dais in Postal Ground was being decked up, and books were taking their positions on the shelfs in the book exhibition pavilion. The stage, thus, was all set for 92nd Akhil Bharatiya Marathi Sahitya Sammelan starting from Friday.

The three-day literary festival of Marathi language would see, besides controversy, people from across Maharashtra thronging Yavatmal. Responding to the calls of controversy-mongers, some of the speakers decided not to be a part of the literary meet. Still, there were many who decided to register their displeasure but not at the cost of the cause of Marathi. Dr Ramakant Kolte, Working President of the organising committee, told ‘The Hitavada’ that some people were not excited but many more were enthusiastic about the meet. “After all, it is a matter of pride for Yavatmal to host this meet after a long gap of 45 years,” he said with a smile, while sitting in the organising committee’s office in Tilak Smarak Mandir, on the eve of the Sammelan.

The proceedings of the Sammelan will start at 8 am with the traditional ‘Granth Dindi’ (procession of books) from Azad Maidan to the main venue Postal Ground, which has been renamed as Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Sahitya Nagari. Vidya Deodhar, officiating President of Akhil Bharatiya Marathi Sahitya Mahamandal, will hoist the flag of the meet in presence of Kanchan Chaudhari, President of Yavatmal Municipal Council. At 10.15 am, Laxmikant Deshmukh, President of 91st Akhil Bharatiya Marathi Sahitya Sammelan, will inaugurate the book exhibition in presence of Dr Rajesh Deshmukh, District Collector, Yavatmal.

At 4 pm, the meet will be inaugurated formally by Vaishali Yede, widow of a farmer from village Rajur in Kalamb tehsil of Yavatmal district whose husband committee suicide. Noted scholar-writer Dr Aruna Dhere is the President of 92nd Marathi Sahitya Sammelan. She will preside over the inaugural ceremony. Laxmikant Deshmukh, Vinod Tawade, Marathi Language and Cultural Affairs Minister; Vidya Deodhar, Madan Yerawar, Guardian Minister of Yavatmal district and also Chairman of Reception Committee for the meet; and Dr Ramakant Kolte also will share the dais on this occasion. After the inaugural ceremony, Dr Aruna Dhere will inaugurate ‘Kavi Katta’ (poets’ corner), which will be followed by poets’ meet. Prof Ghanshyam Darne, Secretary of the organising committee, told ‘The Hitavada’ that total 228 book stalls were booked for the exhibition. As many as 158 delegates had registered for the meet. Asked if the boycott call by a section had affected the response to the meet, he said that there were usually around 250 delegates who registered for the annual meet. “We are expecting some more registrations on Friday morning too. We have made arrangements for 280 delegates,” he said. But, he added, some of the sessions in the meet would be ‘restructured’ as the speakers were not attending those. Around 300 volunteers from various associate organisations are working hard to make the event successful.

‘Participate to make meet successful’
Litterateurs from region have made a fervent appeal to literature lovers to participate in the 92nd Marathi Sahittya Sammelan in large numbers and make it a huge success. The meet is being held in Yavatmal after a gap of 45 years. Dr Aruna Dhere, is elected President for the meet. Hence disregarding all the controversies that have erupted so far people must make it a point to attend the literary meet said the litterateurs who had issued a note. The appeal is made by Asha Bage, Dr Akshaykumar Kale, Vivek Ghalsasi, Dr Harischandra Borkar, Dr Madan Kulkarni, Dr Ravindra Shobhne, Dr Kumar Shastri, Dr Mirza Beg, Prakash Edlabadkar, Dr Parag Ghonge, Shubhangi Bhadbhade, Dyaneshwar Maharaj Wagh, Dr Anuradha Warhade, Lakhansingh Katre, Supriya Aiyyar, Dr Rajan Jaiswal, Prof Suresh Deshpande, Ashutosh Adoni, Dr Rajendra Naikwade, Anil Sambre, Dr Sumant Deshpande, Dr Arvind Deshmukh, Dr Uttam Rudravtar, Wing Commander Ashok Mote, Col. Abhay Patwardhan, Satish Taral, Vasant Wahokar, Anil Shende, Shyam Dhond, Mohini Modak, Swati Damodare, Ravindra Deshpande, Dr Swanand Pund, Hemant Khadke, Vivek Kawthekar, Shripad Kothe, Ashatai Pande, Isadas Bhadke, Sadanand Borkar, Prashant Arwe, Irfan Sheikh, Dr Subhash Lohe, Dr Ram Arvikar, Renuka Deshkar, Dr Mona Chimote, Dr Raja Dharmadhikari, Vishnu Solanke, Shripad Joshi, Dr Avinash Moharil, Dr Sandhya Amrute, Dr Rama Golwalkar, Chandrakant Lakhe, Sachin Upadhyay, Makrand Kulkarni, Manish Atul, Dr Amruta Indurkar, Dr Komal Thakre, Dr Sanjay Poharkar, Bansi Kothewar and Meena Yeole.