Dr Charan Das Mahant files nomination for post of Speaker

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 04 Jan 2019 10:53:27


Staff Reporter,


Dr Charan Das Mahant, Indian National Congress Legislator from Sakti Assembly constituency, today filed his nomination for the post of Speaker of Fifth Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly on Thursday.
Interestingly, for the second time in the history of Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly, opposition leaders also proposed and seconded the nomination of Speaker. As Dr Charan Das Mahant filed his nomination, Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ravindra Chaubey and Urban Administration Minister Shiv Kumar Daharia proposed on his behalf while Home Minister Tamradhawaj Sahu, School Education Minister Premsai Singh Tekam and Industries Minister Kawasi Lakhma seconded the application.

Former Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh proposed for Dr Mahant on behalf of Bharatiya Janata Party and former Deputy Speaker Narayan Singh Chandel seconded the application.  Similarly, Janta Congress Chhattisgarh (J) Legislative Party leader Dharamjit Singh proposed for Dr Mahant and was seconded by Kota MLA Dr Renu Jogi. Welcoming the move, Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel said it is good sign for democracy where opposition leaders have come forward to propose and second the nomination of Speaker. He said, in particular former Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh by proposing the nomination has exercised an excellent parliamentary tradition. It is good that the Speaker is being elected with amicable support from treasury and opposition benches.

Talking to media persons, the Chief Minister said his government will try its best to carry out development of the state along with active support from Opposition. He hoped the opposition would continue to extend its positive support alike what it had done today in future as well. In the development of any state, opposition plays a crucial role along with the ruling party and here also the role of opposition will be significant.

He said while carrying out development of state we would solicit suggestions from the opposition as well.
It is worth mentioning here that Dr Charan Das Mahant, who is all set to become the Speaker of Fifth Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly, was elected from Sakti Assembly constituency. Born on December 13, 1954, to Late Bisahu Das Mahant, an eminent social worker and former Congress Legislator from Champa and Late Janaki Devi, Dr Mahant had completed his M Sc, MA, LL B and Ph D from Motilal Science College under Bhopal University and Barkatullah University Madhya Pradesh.

Married to Jyotsna Mahant, Dr Mahant is blessed with three daughters and one son. Being a politician, he is a farmer by profession with painting, music, sports, reading, traveling and participating in debates as hobbies. He also likes spending quality time with his family members.
Mahant has three daughters and one son from his marriage, Surabhi Singh, Supriya Mahant, Bhanupriya Mahant and Suraj Mahant. Surabhi Singh graduated from IEHE, Bhopal and got married in year 2007.

Supriya Mahant is serving in the field of Clinical psychology and is pursuing her Ph D in Raipur. Bhanupriya Mahant graduated from People’s College of Dental Science and Research Centre and currently resides in Kansas, USA. Suraj Mahant started Master of Public Administration at UMKC and also lives in Kansas, USA.

Dr Mahant initiated his political career as being elected twice for Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly in 1980 and 1990. In 1981 he was appointed Chairman of Assurances Committee followed by Chairman of Delegation Committee in 1985. He was made Secretary of Madhya Pradesh Congress Committee during this period.

During 1988-1989 he was appointed as Minister of State for Agriculture, Government of Madhya Pradesh followed by Minister of State for Commercial Tax from 1993-1995 with Independent Charge. He was later appointed Home and Public Relations Minister during 1995 to 1998.
In 1998, Dr Mahant was elected to the 12th Lok Sabha. In 1999, he was re-elected for the second term to the 13th Lok Sabha, and also became Consultative Committee Member in the Ministry of Coal.

From 2004 to 2005 he was appointed as CPCC Working President, from 2005 to 2006 as CPCC Acting President and from 2006 to 2008 he was appointed as CPCC President. In May 2008, he was again appointed as the CPCC Working President. In 2009, he was re-elected for the third term, in the 15th Lok Sabha.

During the period January 2013 – May 2014, he was appointed Union Minister of
State for Food Processing Industries under the then UPA government under Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh.