Chemists & Druggists Assn to observe ‘Halla Bol Abhiyan’ from January 8

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 07 Jan 2019 11:17:38


Staff Reporter,

PROTESTING against online sale of medicines on the call of All India Chemists and Druggists Association and Madhya Pradesh Chemists and Druggists Association, Jabalpur Chemists and Druggists Association will observe ‘Halla Bol Abhiyan’ from January 8. In the protest, in every district across the country the district units of Druggists and Chemists Association will submit a memorandum to the Chief Ministers through the Collector.

Chemists and Druggists are demanding the Government to ban online sale of medicines as it may cause adverse impact on people’s health. In this regard, cases are pending in High Courts while in few states High Courts have given stay orders to ban online medicine sales. Keeping social concerns inmind, the national body and all its members across the country have appealed the Government to ban online trading in medicines.
Chemists and Druggists have launched nationwide movement against online marketing of medicines due to which business of addictive substances available in pharma to treat some ailments will be misused. This will have an adverse impact on health of future generations.

In 2013, the Price Control Act was brought by Government of India. According to which prices of medicines were fixed. Minimum retail price has share of retailers, stockist, wholeseller, dealer and distributor. Online companies are offering 30 to 90 per cent discount. Besides this, return of left over medicines and according to dosages return is not possible. This would create junk of medicine waste in every house. Since last three years, the Association of Chemists and Druggists right from national level are raising the issue before the Government at different platforms but no action has been taken yet. To raise the issue on January 8 at 11 am, members of Jabalpur Chemists and Druggists Association will submit a memorandum addressing to Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan through Collector. President Sudhir Bhatija, Secretary Dr Chandresh Jain, Azad Jain, Manohar Ahuja, Rahul Badkul, Nitin Gandhi, Ashok Ahuja, Alok Kohli, Dr Rohit Budhiraja and others have appealed to support the protest.