Amarjeet Bhagat likely to become new CPCC President

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 09 Jan 2019 11:08:40


Staff Reporter,


Four-time MLA from Sitapur Assembly constituency of Surguja district Amarjeet Bhagat could become the new President of Chhattisgarh Pradesh Congress Committee (CPCC). Bhupesh Baghel who steered the Congress party to a landslide victory as President of the CPCC has been made the Chief Minister and Baghel has expressed his willingness to quit the CPCC President post as per the party constitution of one man one post.

The Congress sources said that the ruling Congress party to balance the equations of caste is planning to induct a tribal face in the tribal dominant state for the post of CPCC president. Amarjeet Bhagat is currently the State President of Adivasi Congress. Bhagat is believed to be close to Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel and as per traditions prevailing in the Congress a name recommended by the chief minister is unlikely to be rejected by the Congress high command particularly when the chief minister had put up a valiant struggle to oust the BJP government. The Congress has returned to power in the state after fifteen long years.

Amarjeet Bhagat, is from the tribal community and the only obstacle for Amarjeet Bhagat’s elevation could be Cabinet Minister and MLA from Ambikapur T S Singhdeo who may oppose the name of Amarjeet Bhagat as the state unit chief of the party. Reportedly Bhagat didn’t support the name of Singhdeo for the post of Chief Minister. If Singhdeo doesn’t oppose the name of Amarjeet Bhagat, there would be no problem for the Congress high command to appoint Bhagat as new CPCC President, a Congress leader told The Hitavada on condition of anonymity.

The other prominent names doing round for the post of president of CPCC are that of senior Congress leader Karuna Shukla, Abhanpur MLA and former CPCC President Dhanendra Sahu, former Union Minister Arvind Neam, former IAS officer and newly elected Kanker MLA Shishupal Sori, Bhanupratappur MLA and Adivasi Congress National Vice-President Manoj Mandavi, Pathalgaon MLA Rampukar Singh Thakurand Kondagaon MLA Mohan Markam.

However, the appointment may take some time as Bhupesh has not yet resigned from the post of CPCC president. The moment party relieves Bhupesh from responsibility of CPCC President political manoeuvring and lobbying would begin in the state.

The party sources said that voices in favour of a tribal candidate are being raised for the President of the CPCC. However, Congress high command will take the final call on it. It is challengeable task for the high command to zero in on a single name.

Adivasi Congress State President and four-time Sitapur MLA Amarjeet Bhagat, however, said that he is ready to discharge his responsibility whatever the party gives him. Patan MLA Bhupesh Baghel, who comes from other backward classes (OBC), has been serving as the President of the CPCC since October 2014. Baghel worked to strengthen the party at the grassroot level and because of it the Congress registered an impressive victory in the assembly election by winning 68 seats.