‘Agriculture is soul of Indian economy’

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 11 Feb 2019 11:24:00


Staff Reporter,

“Soul of Indian economy is agriculture. It has immense possibilities for employment generation for youths. The development of agriculture would also strengthen the Indian economy,” said Dr Jaspal Singh, Member NITI Aayog, while addressing the opening ceremony of the ‘3rd International Conference on Multidisciplinary Research in Sustainable Development, Opportunities and Challenges’, organised jointly by Samajik Vikas Ewam Arthik Parishad and G S College of Commerce and Economics.

Dr Prabha Thodam, an expert from Oman, said that, in Oman, lack of implementation of research works in Oman had slowed down its progress. In India, there are numerous researches being carried out in Agriculture sector. Addressing the opening session, Dr S K Pahawa expressed concern on decline interest of youths towards farm-related works. The need is to shape farming and related enterprising sectors in such a way that could revive interest amongst youths.

Organising Coordinator, Dr Devendra Vishwakarma gave brief introduction of the objective of the seminar, while also emphasising on new plans for agro-based employment generation, so that, youths could remain attached to the sector.

Guest speakers, including Dr Rajneet Singh, Dr Shobha Singh, Dr Rajkumar Arya, emphasised on exploring more possibilities in farming technology. In present scenario, the use of technology and modern methods have brought remarkable rise in agro-production ratio.

Addressing the concluding ceremony as chief guest, Professor A D N Vajpayee emphasised on encouraging organic farming that helps in making our farms sustainable resources for agro production. MLA Ashok Rohani presided over the programme and appreciated the subject of symposium and said that, the discussion amongst experts of the fraternity would surely bring changes in the system.

Eminent those who shared their views included Dr Sanjay Tiwari, Dr Dilip Hazri, Dr Shakti, Dr R K Gupta, Dr Ashish Shrivastava, Dr Vishwas, Nitin Patel, Dr Asha Rani, Dr Rijhan Jharia, Brijesh Uikey, Satyam Thakur and others.